MLB

#36
Clay Buchholz
ERA W-L K
6.48 1-5 29
Team: TorontoHt / Wt: 6-3 / 190
Position: SPBorn: 8/14/1984 Birthplace: Nederland, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Red Sox (2005)


Latest News
Sep. 18 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed seven runs on 10 hits in 3.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 11-10 on Wednesday. Buchholz struck out four, ending the game with a 6.48 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Clay Buchholz fell to 1-5, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Thursday. Buchholz struck out four, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Clay Buchholz fell to 1-4, allowing four runs - three earned - on seven hits in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-0 on Friday. Buchholz struck out three, ending the game with a 5.31 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST4:17 PM CST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)5:17 PM CT-Clay Buchholz improved to 1-3, allowing two runs on three hits and five walks in 5.2 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Houston Astros 6-4 on Saturday. Buchholz struck out three, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST4:42 PM CST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Clay Buchholz fell to 0-3, allowing two runs on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Seattle Mariners 3-1 on Sunday. Buchholz struck out three, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Clay Buchholz fell to 0-2, allowing seven runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Texas Rangers 10-2 on Sunday. Buchholz struck out one, ending the game with a 6.57 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
May 1 10:07 PM PT11:07 PM MT12:07 AM CT1:07 AM ET1:07 ET5:07 GMT13:07 10:07 PM MST12:07 AM EST11:07 PM CST12:37 AM VEN9:07 UAE12:07 AM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Tuesday. Buchholz struck out three, ending the game with a 4.79 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Clay Buchholz fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Toronto Blue Jays lost to the San Francisco Giants 4-0 on Wednesday. Buchholz struck out two, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed three runs on six hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Minnesota Twins 7-4 on Thursday. Buchholz struck out four, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed one run on six hits in 6.0 innings as the Toronto Blue Jays defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-1 on Saturday. Buchholz struck out two, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET14:46 ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST1:46 PM EST12:46 PM CST2:16 PM VEN22:46 UAE12:46 PM CT-Buchholz (elbow) is scheduled to be activated Saturday and start the Blue Jays' game against the Rays.
Analysis: Buchholz may not be in top form for his debut, as he allowed four homers and five runs in four innings in Sunday's rehab start for Triple-A Buffalo. The veteran righty posted an excellent 2.01 ERA in 16 starts with Arizona last year, though he'll once again be a risky fantasy pick due to his extensive injury history and a return to the tough AL East.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 Bos 3 1 0 - 0 4 3 1 22.2 14 6 4 0 10 0 22 1.06 1.59
2008 Bos 2 9 0 - 0 16 15 1 76.0 93 63 57 11 41 1 72 1.76 6.75
2009 Bos 7 4 0 - 0 16 16 0 92.0 91 44 43 13 36 1 68 1.38 4.21
2010 Bos 17 7 0 - 0 28 28 1 173.2 142 55 45 9 67 1 120 1.20 2.33
2011 Bos 6 3 0 - 0 14 14 0 82.2 76 34 32 10 31 1 60 1.29 3.48
2012 Bos 11 8 0 - 0 29 29 2 189.1 187 104 96 25 64 2 129 1.33 4.56
2013 Bos 12 1 0 - 0 16 16 1 108.1 75 23 21 4 36 0 96 1.02 1.74
2014 Bos 8 11 0 - 0 28 28 2 170.1 182 108 101 17 54 2 132 1.39 5.34
2015 Bos 7 7 0 - 0 18 18 1 113.1 114 48 41 6 23 0 107 1.21 3.26
2016 Bos 8 10 0 - 0 37 21 0 139.1 130 80 74 21 55 1 93 1.33 4.78
2017 Phi 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.1 16 10 10 1 3 0 5 2.59 12.27
2018 Ari 7 2 0 - 0 16 16 1 98.1 80 25 22 9 22 1 81 1.04 2.01
2019 Tor 1 5 0 - 0 10 10 0 50.0 62 37 36 9 12 1 29 1.48 6.48
Career 89 69 0 - 0 234 216 10 1323.1 1262 637 582 135 454 11 1014 1.30 3.96

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bos 28 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2012 Bos 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bos 28 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2015 Bos 18 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bos 37 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
2017 Phi 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Ari 16 31 0 2 1 0 0 1 1 17 0 0 .065 .094 .097
Career 235 46 0 4 1 0 0 1 2 24 0 0 .087 .125 .109

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 12 4 4 2 2 0 6 3.60
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 3 3.60
2013 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 8 8 0 41.1 44 22 20 6 16 2 34 4.35
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 5 4.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.2 12 7 7 2 2 0 10 5.91
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 3 1 0 0 3 1 2 0.00
2016 Bos Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 12 4 4 0 2 0 8 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 6 2 2 0 1 0 4 4.50
Career 0 1 0 - 0 6 6 0 29.2 34 15 14 4 10 1 24 4.25

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Bos Total 8 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 263 93 86 89.3 33
Curveball 139 79 72 75 17.44
Changeup 167 80 73 76.5 20.95
Cut Fastball 228 88 81 84.4 28.61


@STATS_Insights