MLB

#49
Jake Arrieta
ERA W-L K
4.64 8-8 110
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 3/6/1986 Birthplace: Farmington, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Orioles (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 12 9:53 AM PT10:53 AM MT11:53 AM CT12:53 PM ET12:53 ET16:53 GMT0:53 9:53 AM MST11:53 AM EST10:53 AM CST12:23 PM VEN20:53 UAE11:53 AM CT-Arrieta (bone spur in elbow) has been placed on the 10-day injured list and is expected to have season-ending surgery.
Analysis: The 2015 NL Cy Young Award winner allowed five runs over three innings Sunday night against the Giants and later said "It hurts every day." Arrieta is 8-8 with a 4.64 ERA in 24 starts.
Aug. 11 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed five runs on seven hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the San Francisco Giants 9-6 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.64 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-4 on Tuesday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the San Francisco Giants 10-2 on Thursday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 26 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 8-8, allowing five runs - four earned - on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-2 on Friday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 4.51 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 19 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed one run on six hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-1 on Friday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 14 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out two, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 7 9:24 AM PT10:24 AM MT11:24 AM CT12:24 PM ET12:24 ET16:24 GMT0:24 9:24 AM MST11:24 AM EST10:24 AM CST11:54 AM VEN20:24 UAE11:24 AM CT-Arrieta (bone spurs in elbow) is scheduled to start Sunday against the Nationals but is still being evaluated to see whether surgery is needed.
Analysis: Phillies manager Gabe Kapler made the injury announcement a day after Arrieta gave up a season-high 11 hits in just 4 1/3 innings during a June 6 loss to the Mets. Arrieta had season-ending surgery for bone spurs in 2011 while with Baltimore. The 2015 NL Cy Young Award winner is in the second season of a three-year, $75 million contract he signed after leaving the Cubs.
July 6 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 8-7, allowing six runs - five earned - on 11 hits in 4.1 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the New York Mets 6-5 on Saturday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 4.67 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 8-6, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Miami Marlins 13-6 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out six, ending the game with a 4.43 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
June 25 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 7-6, allowing five runs on nine hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the New York Mets 7-5 on Tuesday. Arrieta struck out two, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 6-6, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Washington Nationals 2-0 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 6-5, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-4 on Tuesday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
June 5 4:17 PM PT5:17 PM MT6:17 PM CT7:17 PM ET19:17 ET23:17 GMT7:17 4:17 PM MST6:17 PM EST5:17 PM CST6:47 PM VEN3:17 UAE (+1)6:17 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed five runs on seven hits and five walks in 4.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the San Diego Padres 7-5 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 1 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 5-5, allowing five runs on 10 hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-3 on Friday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 25 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST5:07 PM CST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 5-4, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 7-2 on Saturday. Arrieta struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed one run on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Monday. Arrieta struck out four, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 4-4, allowing five runs - four earned - on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-2 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 4-3, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-1 on Friday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Jake Arrieta allowed three runs - two earned - on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Washington Nationals 10-8 on Saturday. Arrieta struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 4-2, allowing five runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Miami Marlins 12-9 on Saturday. Arrieta struck out five, ending the game with a 3.46 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 3-2, allowing four runs - three earned - on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the New York Mets 5-1 on Monday. Arrieta struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 8.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the New York Mets 3-2 on Wednesday. Arrieta struck out three, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST8:04 PM CST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 2-1, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Miami Marlins 9-1 on Friday. Arrieta struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST2:59 PM CST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Jake Arrieta fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-2 on Saturday. Arrieta struck out one, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 7:29 PM PT8:29 PM MT9:29 PM CT10:29 PM ET22:29 ET2:29 GMT10:29 7:29 PM MST9:29 PM EST8:29 PM CST9:59 PM VEN6:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Jake Arrieta improved to 1-0, allowing one run on three hits and six walks in 6.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-1 on Sunday. Arrieta struck out six, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Bal 6 6 0 - 0 18 18 0 100.1 106 57 52 9 48 3 52 1.53 4.66
2011 Bal 10 8 0 - 0 22 22 0 119.1 115 70 67 21 59 2 93 1.46 5.05
2012 Bal 3 9 0 - 0 24 18 0 114.2 122 82 79 16 35 3 109 1.37 6.20
2013 Bal 1 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 23.2 25 19 19 2 17 1 23 1.77 7.23
2013 ChC 4 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 51.2 34 22 21 7 24 0 37 1.12 3.66
2013 Tot 5 4 0 - 0 14 14 0 75.1 59 41 40 9 41 1 60 1.33 4.78
2014 ChC 10 5 0 - 0 25 25 1 156.2 114 46 44 5 41 2 167 0.99 2.53
2015 ChC 22 6 0 - 0 33 33 4 229.0 150 52 45 10 48 2 236 0.86 1.77
2016 ChC 18 8 0 - 0 31 31 1 197.1 138 72 68 16 76 1 190 1.08 3.10
2017 ChC 14 10 0 - 0 30 30 0 168.1 150 82 66 23 55 3 163 1.22 3.53
2018 Phi 10 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 172.2 165 93 76 21 57 0 138 1.29 3.96
2019 Phi 8 8 0 - 0 24 24 0 135.2 149 76 70 21 51 3 110 1.47 4.64
Career 106 75 0 - 0 252 246 6 1469.1 1268 671 607 151 511 20 1318 1.21 3.72

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bal 18 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2011 Bal 22 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2012 Bal 24 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2013 ChC 9 15 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 10 0 0 .133 .133 .133
2013 Tot 14 15 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 10 0 0 .133 .133 .133
2014 ChC 26 39 3 7 2 1 0 3 2 16 0 0 .179 .220 .282
2015 ChC 33 79 5 12 1 1 2 2 1 45 0 0 .152 .163 .266
2016 ChC 31 65 7 17 2 1 2 7 4 28 0 0 .262 .304 .415
2017 ChC 32 61 2 8 0 1 1 5 1 32 0 0 .131 .145 .213
2018 Phi 31 45 3 6 0 0 1 3 3 27 0 0 .133 .188 .200
2019 Phi 24 45 2 7 1 0 0 4 1 19 0 0 .156 .174 .178
Career 255 359 22 60 6 4 6 27 14 181 0 0 .167 .198 .256

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 ChC Total 4 2 0 - 0 6 6 2 39.1 28 16 16 4 8 2 56 3.66
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 1 9.0 5 0 0 0 0 0 11 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 4 4 1 2 0 9 6.35
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 4 4 1 2 1 8 7.20
2016 ChC Total 4 2 0 - 0 8 8 0 44.2 34 18 18 6 14 0 50 3.63
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 6 2 2 0 1 0 5 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 4 4 2 0 0 5 7.20
    WS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 5 3 3 1 6 0 15 2.38
2017 ChC Total 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 21.1 10 4 2 2 20 0 26 0.84
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 2 1 0 0 5 0 4 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 3 1 1 1 5 0 9 1.35
Career 5 3 0 - 0 9 9 1 52.2 36 19 18 6 21 1 66 3.08

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 ChC Total 6 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 10 2 0 .000 .167 .000
    WC 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 1 0 .000 .333 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 ChC Total 8 10 2 2 0 0 2 6 0 6 0 0 .200 .200 .800
    LDS 1 3 1 1 0 0 1 3 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 1.333
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC Total 4 6 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .333 .333 .333
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 9 13 1 2 0 0 1 3 0 10 1 0 .154 .214 .385


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1231 96 89 92.5 56.16
Curveball 293 84 77 80.4 13.37
Slider 266 93 87 89.8 12.14
Changeup 402 90 84 87.6 18.34


@STATS_Insights