MLB

#24
Chris Archer
ERA W-L K
5.19 3-9 143
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-2 / 195
Position: SPBorn: 9/26/1988 Birthplace: Clayton, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 6th Round by Indians (2006)


Latest News
Aug. 21 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Archer has been placed on the 10-day injured list after leaving Tuesday's start against the Nationals after one inning with right shoulder inflammation.
Analysis: It's been a tough season for Archer, whose last win came June 6. He did post a 3.18 ERA, though, in his first three August starts. It's possible the Pirates could shut him down for the rest of the season.
Aug. 20 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Washington Nationals 4-1 on Tuesday. Archer struck out two, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-9, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Angels 7-4 on Wednesday. Archer struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two runs on seven hits in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-2 on Friday. Archer struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 7-5 on Saturday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.35 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-8, allowing six runs - five earned - on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the New York Mets 8-7 on Sunday. Archer struck out four, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
July 23 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-7, allowing four runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Tuesday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 17 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Wednesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.36 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 12 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST3:50 PM CST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)4:50 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Friday. Archer struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.42 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 6-5 on Wednesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.49 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Archer might not start Wednesday against the Cubs after being pulled after four innings from his start in Milwaukee on Friday night due to left hip discomfort.
Analysis: Archer has gone 2-5 with a 6.75 ERA in his last 10 starts.
June 22 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST5:31 PM CST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)6:31 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 6-3 on Saturday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Miami Marlins 5-4 on Sunday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.85 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 12 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 3-6, allowing seven runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-5 on Tuesday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 6 12:42 PM PT1:42 PM MT2:42 PM CT3:42 PM ET15:42 ET19:42 GMT3:42 12:42 PM MST2:42 PM EST1:42 PM CST3:12 PM VEN23:42 UAE2:42 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 3-5, allowing one run on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-1 on Thursday. Archer struck out six, ending the game with a 5.20 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 2-5, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 9-4 on Friday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.66 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-5, allowing four runs on six hits and six walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-7 on Sunday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
May 21 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-4, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-0 on Tuesday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 5.55 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 15 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST4:42 PM CST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on four hits and four walks in 3.2 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-1 on Wednesday. Archer struck out five, ending the game with a 5.58 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Archer (right thumb inflammation) has been activated from the injured list to start Wednesday against Arizona.
Analysis: Archer was given the green light after having no issues getting through a four-inning, 60-pitch simulated game Friday in St. Louis. The two-time All-Star went 1-2 with a 4.33 in five starts before landing on the IL on April 27.
Apr. 27 10:05 PM PT11:05 PM MT12:05 AM CT1:05 AM ET1:05 ET5:05 GMT13:05 10:05 PM MST12:05 AM EST11:05 PM CST12:35 AM VEN9:05 UAE12:05 AM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-2, allowing six runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 6-2 on Friday. Archer struck out three, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 1:29 PM PT2:29 PM MT3:29 PM CT4:29 PM ET16:29 ET20:29 GMT4:29 1:29 PM MST3:29 PM EST2:29 PM CST3:59 PM VEN0:29 UAE (+1)3:29 PM CT-Chris Archer fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Sunday. Archer struck out two, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST9:52 AM CST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Archer will begin serving his suspension Sunday.
Analysis: Archer (1-0, 2.00 ERA) was suspended five games for his role in a benches-clearing fracas last Sunday against the Reds. He's expected to start next Sunday against the Giants.
Apr. 13 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST4:32 PM CST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Washington Nationals 3-2 on Saturday. Archer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 11:13 AM PT12:13 PM MT1:13 PM CT2:13 PM ET14:13 ET18:13 GMT2:13 11:13 AM MST1:13 PM EST12:13 PM CST1:43 PM VEN22:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-Archer has been suspended for five games for his role in a benches-clearing fracas Sunday against the Reds.
Analysis: Archer started the incident when he threw behind Derek Dietrich after he admired a home run off him in his previous plate appearance.
Apr. 7 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Chris Archer improved to 1-0, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-5 on Sunday. Archer struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.45 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Chris Archer allowed two hits and three walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Monday. Archer struck out eight, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 TB 1 3 0 - 0 6 4 0 29.1 23 17 15 3 13 0 36 1.23 4.60
2013 TB 9 7 0 - 0 23 23 2 128.2 107 49 46 15 38 2 101 1.13 3.22
2014 TB 10 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 194.2 177 85 72 12 72 1 173 1.28 3.33
2015 TB 12 13 0 - 0 34 34 1 212.0 175 85 76 19 66 0 252 1.14 3.23
2016 TB 9 19 0 - 0 33 33 0 201.1 183 100 90 30 67 0 233 1.24 4.02
2017 TB 10 12 0 - 0 34 34 0 201.0 193 101 91 27 60 0 249 1.26 4.07
2018 TB 3 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 96.0 102 50 46 11 31 0 102 1.39 4.31
2018 Pit 3 3 0 - 0 10 10 0 52.1 53 27 25 8 18 3 60 1.36 4.30
2018 Tot 6 8 0 - 0 27 27 0 148.1 155 77 71 19 49 3 162 1.38 4.31
2019 Pit 3 9 0 - 0 23 23 0 119.2 114 73 69 25 55 2 143 1.41 5.19
Career 60 80 0 - 0 212 210 3 1235.0 1127 587 530 150 420 8 1349 1.25 3.86

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 TB 8 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1 .000 .000 .000
2013 TB 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 TB 32 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 TB 34 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 TB 33 7 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .125 .000
2017 TB 34 8 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 3 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2018 Pit 10 17 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .118 .118 .176
2018 Tot 27 17 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .118 .118 .176
2019 Pit 23 35 1 4 0 0 0 2 3 19 0 0 .114 .184 .114
Career 214 80 4 8 1 0 0 3 4 38 0 1 .100 .143 .113

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.2 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1059 97 90 94.1 50.48
Curveball 40 85 79 82.1 1.91
Slider 747 94 84 88.7 35.61
Changeup 252 91 84 87.7 12.01


@STATS_Insights