MLB

#45
Tyler Skaggs
ERA W-L K
4.02 8-10 129
Team: LA AngelsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 7/13/1991 Birthplace: Santa Monica, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Supplemental Round by Angels (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 30 9:26 PM PT10:26 PM MT11:26 PM CT12:26 AM ET0:26 ET4:26 GMT12:26 9:26 PM MST11:26 PM EST10:26 PM CST11:56 PM VEN8:26 UAE11:26 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 8-10, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-2 on Saturday. Skaggs struck out three, ending the game with a 4.02 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 2:26 PM PT3:26 PM MT4:26 PM CT5:26 PM ET17:26 ET21:26 GMT5:26 2:26 PM MST4:26 PM EST3:26 PM CST4:56 PM VEN1:26 UAE (+1)4:26 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 8-9, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 2.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Houston Astros 6-2 on Sunday. Skaggs did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 10:51 PM PT11:51 PM MT12:51 AM CT1:51 AM ET1:51 ET5:51 GMT13:51 10:51 PM MST12:51 AM EST11:51 PM CST1:21 AM VEN9:51 UAE12:51 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs walked two and didn't allow a hit in 3.0 scoreless innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 9-7 on Tuesday. Skaggs struck out three, ending the game with a 3.69 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 11:47 AM PT12:47 PM MT1:47 PM CT2:47 PM ET14:47 ET18:47 GMT2:47 11:47 AM MST1:47 PM EST12:47 PM CST2:17 PM VEN22:47 UAE1:47 PM CT-Skaggs (left adductor strain) is slated to come off the DL and start Tuesday at Oakland.
Analysis: Skaggs has been on the DL three times since July with adductor injuries, spoiling what was shaping up to be a strong season. The left-hander was 7-5 with a 2.57 ERA in 17 starts prior to the All-Star break.
Aug. 12 9:19 PM PT10:19 PM MT11:19 PM CT12:19 AM ET0:19 ET4:19 GMT12:19 9:19 PM MST11:19 PM EST10:19 PM CST11:49 PM VEN8:19 UAE11:19 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 8-8, allowing seven runs on 10 hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-0 on Saturday. Skaggs struck out five, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 9:34 AM PT10:34 AM MT11:34 AM CT12:34 PM ET12:34 ET16:34 GMT0:34 9:34 AM MST11:34 AM EST10:34 AM CST12:04 PM VEN20:34 UAE11:34 AM CT-Skaggs has been placed on the DL with a left adductor strain. He is hoping he'll only miss one start and is slated to pitch Saturday against the A's.
Analysis: Prior to being knocked around by the Rays in his last start on July 31, Skaggs had been outstanding. He went 5-2 with a 1.44 ERA and 1.08 WHIP to go with 51 strikeouts over 50 innings over an eight-start stretch from June 3-July 25.
July 31 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 8-7, allowing 10 runs on eight hits and three walks in 3.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 10-6 on Tuesday. Skaggs struck out three, ending the game with a 3.34 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 26 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 8-6, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Chicago White Sox 11-3 on Wednesday. Skaggs struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.62 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 21 9:58 PM PT10:58 PM MT11:58 PM CT12:58 AM ET0:58 ET4:58 GMT12:58 9:58 PM MST11:58 PM EST10:58 PM CST12:28 AM VEN8:58 UAE11:58 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 7-6, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Houston Astros 3-1 on Friday. Skaggs struck out one, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 13 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 7-5, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Seattle Mariners 11-2 on Thursday. Skaggs struck out five, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 4 11:33 AM PT12:33 PM MT1:33 PM CT2:33 PM ET14:33 ET18:33 GMT2:33 11:33 AM MST1:33 PM EST12:33 PM CST2:03 PM VEN22:33 UAE1:33 PM CT-The Angels have activated Skaggs from the disabled list to start Thursday against the Mariners.
Analysis: The left-hander was hampered by a strained right adductor but missed less than two weeks. Skaggs has been good when healthy, posting a 2.64 ERA and 100 strikeouts in 92 innings.
June 30 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST5:26 PM CST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs allowed two runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-2 on Saturday. Skaggs struck out six, ending the game with a 2.64 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 25 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 6-5, allowing one run on seven hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Kansas City Royals 2-0 on Monday. Skaggs struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.69 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 21 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)5:58 PM CT-Skaggs (hamstring) will make his next start Monday at Kansas City.
Analysis: Skaggs had been scratched from Thursday's scheduled outing against Toronto. The left-hander has been terrific lately, yielding only one earned run across 20 innings in winning each of his last three starts.
June 16 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE12:02 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 6-4, allowing two runs - zero earned - on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-4 on Friday. Skaggs struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 9 6:06 PM PT7:06 PM MT8:06 PM CT9:06 PM ET21:06 ET1:06 GMT9:06 6:06 PM MST8:06 PM EST7:06 PM CST8:36 PM VEN5:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 5-4, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Minnesota Twins 2-1 on Saturday. Skaggs struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
June 3 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 4-4, allowing four hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Sunday. Skaggs struck out six, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 28 1:30 PM PT2:30 PM MT3:30 PM CT4:30 PM ET16:30 ET20:30 GMT4:30 1:30 PM MST3:30 PM EST2:30 PM CST4:00 PM VEN0:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 3-4, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Detroit Tigers 9-3 on Monday. Skaggs struck out five, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
May 23 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST8:56 PM CST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs allowed three runs on six hits in 5.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Wednesday. Skaggs struck out six, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 18 10:18 PM PT11:18 PM MT12:18 AM CT1:18 AM ET1:18 ET5:18 GMT13:18 10:18 PM MST12:18 AM EST11:18 PM CST12:48 AM VEN9:18 UAE12:18 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 3-3, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-1 on Thursday. Skaggs struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 12 10:35 PM PT11:35 PM MT12:35 AM CT1:35 AM ET1:35 ET5:35 GMT13:35 10:35 PM MST12:35 AM EST11:35 PM CST1:05 AM VEN9:35 UAE12:35 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-4 on Friday. Skaggs struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.07 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 6 10:44 PM PT11:44 PM MT12:44 AM CT1:44 AM ET1:44 ET5:44 GMT13:44 10:44 PM MST12:44 AM EST11:44 PM CST1:14 AM VEN9:44 UAE12:44 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Seattle Mariners 9-8 on Saturday. Skaggs struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 3-2, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the New York Yankees 2-1 on Sunday. Skaggs struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.03 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 3-1, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Houston Astros 2-0 on Monday. Skaggs struck out three, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs fell to 2-1, allowing six runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.1 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-0 on Wednesday. Skaggs struck out four, ending the game with a 3.98 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 2-0, allowing one run on five hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Texas Rangers 11-1 on Tuesday. Skaggs struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 5:38 PM PT6:38 PM MT7:38 PM CT8:38 PM ET20:38 ET0:38 GMT8:38 5:38 PM MST7:38 PM EST6:38 PM CST8:08 PM VEN4:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Tyler Skaggs allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Wednesday. Skaggs struck out five, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST11:28 PM CST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE12:28 AM CT-Tyler Skaggs improved to 1-0, allowing three hits over 6.1 scoreless innings, as the Los Angeles Angels defeated the Oakland Athletics 2-1 on Friday. Skaggs struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.47 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Ari 1 3 0 - 0 6 6 0 29.1 30 20 19 6 13 0 21 1.47 5.83
2013 Ari 2 3 0 - 0 7 7 0 38.2 38 23 22 7 15 2 36 1.37 5.12
2014 LAA 5 5 0 - 0 18 18 0 113.0 107 59 54 9 30 1 86 1.21 4.30
2016 LAA 3 4 0 - 0 10 10 0 49.2 51 23 23 5 23 0 50 1.49 4.17
2017 LAA 2 6 0 - 0 16 16 0 85.0 90 46 43 13 28 0 76 1.39 4.55
2018 LAA 8 10 0 - 0 24 24 0 125.1 127 60 56 14 40 0 129 1.33 4.02
Career 21 31 0 - 0 81 81 0 441.0 443 231 217 54 149 3 398 1.34 4.43

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Ari 6 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Ari 7 10 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2014 LAA 18 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 LAA 16 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 81 21 0 2 0 0 0 1 0 12 0 0 .095 .095 .095


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1268 98 86 91.4 58.54
Curveball 611 80 69 74.8 28.21
Changeup 287 88 77 84.3 13.25


@STATS_Insights