MLB

#46
Kevin Gausman
ERA W-L K
5.72 3-9 114
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 200
Position: SPBorn: 1/6/1991 Birthplace: Centennial, Colorado
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 1st Round by Orioles (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 29 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed two hits and two walks without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2 on Saturday. Gausman struck out two, ending the game with a 5.72 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 12:31 PM PT1:31 PM MT2:31 PM CT3:31 PM ET15:31 ET19:31 GMT3:31 12:31 PM MST2:31 PM EST1:31 PM CST3:01 PM VEN23:31 UAE2:31 PM CT-Kevin Gausman did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Thursday. Gausman struck out two, ending the game with a 5.81 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)8:38 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 4-2 on Tuesday. Gausman struck out one, ending the game with a 5.93 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)10:37 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 3-9, allowing three runs on three hits in 2.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 8-2 on Monday. Gausman struck out two, ending the game with a 5.99 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits in 1.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Seattle Mariners 5-3 on Wednesday. Gausman struck out two, ending the game with a 5.83 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Kevin Gausman did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 2-0 on Saturday. Gausman struck out three, ending the game with a 5.84 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Thursday. Gausman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.90 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-3 on Sunday. Gausman struck out three, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)8:55 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Miami Marlins 5-0 on Wednesday. Gausman struck out three, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed three runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 14-0 on Saturday. Gausman did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Kevin Gausman did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Sunday. Gausman struck out six, ending the game with a 5.90 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Kevin Gausman walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 13-4 on Friday. Gausman struck out one, ending the game with a 6.04 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Washington Nationals 7-6 on Monday. Gausman struck out two, ending the game with a 6.11 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 3-8, allowing two runs on four hits in 2.0 innings, as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Chicago Cubs 12-5 on Thursday. Gausman struck out two, ending the game with a 6.26 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 3-7, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-2 on Friday. Gausman struck out five, ending the game with a 6.19 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 3-6, allowing six runs on nine hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 9-4 on Sunday. Gausman struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.97 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 21 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Kevin Gausman improved to 3-5, allowing one run on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Washington Nationals 7-1 on Sunday. Gausman struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.71 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 11 2:32 PM PT3:32 PM MT4:32 PM CT5:32 PM ET17:32 ET21:32 GMT5:32 2:32 PM MST4:32 PM EST3:32 PM CST5:02 PM VEN1:32 UAE (+1)4:32 PM CT-Gausman (plantar fasciitis) will return to the Braves' rotation Sunday against the Nationals after allowing five earned runs over 18 innings in three rehab starts.
Analysis: Gausman really struggled before going on the injured list June 11, as he posted a 6.21 ERA in 13 starts.
June 10 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed four runs - two earned - on five hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 13-7 on Monday. Gausman struck out four, ending the game with a 6.21 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST10:00 PM CST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 2-5, allowing seven runs on 12 hits in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-4 on Wednesday. Gausman struck out three, ending the game with a 6.15 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 29 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 2-4, allowing eight runs on eight hits and two walks in 1.0 inning, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Washington Nationals 14-4 on Wednesday. Gausman struck out one, ending the game with a 5.56 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 23 5:10 PM PT6:10 PM MT7:10 PM CT8:10 PM ET20:10 ET0:10 GMT8:10 5:10 PM MST7:10 PM EST6:10 PM CST7:40 PM VEN4:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Thursday. Gausman struck out six, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)9:54 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 4-3 on Saturday. Gausman struck out four, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 12 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST3:54 PM CST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Gausman has dropped the appeal of his five-game suspension. He began serving it Sunday.
Analysis: Gausman is set to return Saturday against the Brewers. Gausman was suspended for intentionally throwing a pitch at the Marlins' Jose Urena earlier this month.
May 11 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Kevin Gausman improved to 2-3, allowing one run on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4 on Saturday. Gausman struck out six, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:57 PM PT10:57 PM MT11:57 PM CT12:57 AM ET0:57 ET4:57 GMT12:57 9:57 PM MST11:57 PM EST10:57 PM CST12:27 AM VEN8:57 UAE11:57 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 1-3, allowing five runs - three earned - on seven hits and four walks in 4.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Monday. Gausman struck out six, ending the game with a 5.00 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 3 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 7-2 on Friday. Gausman struck out one, ending the game with a 4.83 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)4:15 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed five runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-7 on Sunday. Gausman struck out five, ending the game with a 4.80 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 1-2, allowing six runs - five earned - on eight hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Tuesday. Gausman struck out six, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Kevin Gausman allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Gausman struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Kevin Gausman fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Mets 6-3 on Thursday. Gausman struck out five, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 6:59 PM PT7:59 PM MT8:59 PM CT9:59 PM ET21:59 ET1:59 GMT9:59 6:59 PM MST8:59 PM EST7:59 PM CST9:29 PM VEN5:59 UAE (+1)8:59 PM CT-Kevin Gausman improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Friday. Gausman struck out seven, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.57 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 4 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET1:14 GMT9:14 6:14 PM MST8:14 PM EST7:14 PM CST8:44 PM VEN5:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Gausman (right shoulder inflammation) is expected to make his spring debut sometime this week.
Analysis: Gausman threw live batting practice Monday without incident, so his availability for the start of the regular season doesn't appear to be in jeopardy. The 2018 in-season acquisition is expected to be part of Atlanta's rotation.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Bal 3 5 0 - 2 20 5 0 47.2 51 30 30 8 13 2 49 1.34 5.66
2014 Bal 7 7 0 - 0 20 20 1 113.1 111 48 45 7 38 0 88 1.31 3.57
2015 Bal 4 7 0 - 0 25 17 0 112.1 109 56 53 17 29 1 103 1.23 4.25
2016 Bal 9 12 0 - 0 30 30 0 179.2 183 76 72 28 47 1 174 1.28 3.61
2017 Bal 11 12 0 - 0 34 34 0 186.2 208 99 97 29 71 0 179 1.49 4.68
2018 Bal 5 8 0 - 0 21 21 0 124.0 139 62 61 21 32 0 104 1.38 4.43
2018 Atl 5 3 0 - 0 10 10 0 59.2 50 23 19 5 18 1 44 1.14 2.87
2018 Tot 10 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 183.2 189 85 80 26 50 1 148 1.30 3.92
2019 Atl 3 7 0 - 0 16 16 0 80.0 92 60 55 12 27 2 85 1.49 6.19
2019 Cin 0 2 0 - 0 15 1 0 22.1 21 11 10 3 5 1 29 1.16 4.03
2019 Tot 3 9 0 - 0 31 17 0 102.1 113 71 65 15 32 3 114 1.42 5.72
Career 47 63 0 - 2 191 154 1 925.2 964 465 442 130 280 8 855 1.34 4.30

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Bal 20 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bal 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
2017 Bal 34 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Bal 21 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Atl 11 19 0 1 0 0 0 0 4 9 0 0 .053 .217 .053
2018 Tot 32 21 0 1 0 0 0 0 4 11 0 0 .048 .200 .048
2019 Atl 16 27 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .037 .037 .037
2019 Tot 31 27 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .037 .037 .037
Career 192 56 1 2 0 0 0 0 5 35 0 0 .036 .115 .036

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Bal Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 8.0 4 1 1 0 2 0 7 1.04
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.2 3 1 1 0 1 0 5 2.45
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 4.1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0.00
2018 Atl Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 2 2 1 2 0 4 9.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 2 2 2 1 2 0 4 9.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 10.0 6 3 3 1 4 0 11 2.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1052 98 88 93.9 56.77
Curveball 4 76 74 75.3 .22
Slider 35 88 78 82.7 1.89
Changeup 91 86 79 82.8 4.91
Split-Finger 671 89 78 83.5 36.21


@STATS_Insights