MLB

#48
Matthew Boyd
ERA W-L K
3.35 5-5 112
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 234
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1991 Birthplace: Mercer Island, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 6th Round by Blue Jays (2013)


Latest News
June 13 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 5-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Thursday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 7 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on nine hits in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.08 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST2:44 PM CST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-4 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.01 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 5-4, allowing six hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.85 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 23 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed five hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Miami Marlins 5-2 on Thursday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:56 PM PT4:56 PM MT5:56 PM CT6:56 PM ET18:56 ET22:56 GMT6:56 3:56 PM MST5:56 PM EST4:56 PM CST6:26 PM VEN2:56 UAE (+1)5:56 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-4, allowing four runs on seven hits in 6.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Saturday. Boyd struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 13 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 4-3, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 8-1 on Monday. Boyd struck out two, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 4-2, allowing one run on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 10-3 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 2.86 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 3 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-3 on Friday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.05 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 2:12 PM PT3:12 PM MT4:12 PM CT5:12 PM ET17:12 ET21:12 GMT5:12 2:12 PM MST4:12 PM EST3:12 PM CST4:42 PM VEN1:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 2-2, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-1 on Sunday. Boyd struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out three, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-3 on Tuesday. Boyd struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Matthew Boyd improved to 1-1, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out six, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 3:48 PM PT4:48 PM MT5:48 PM CT6:48 PM ET18:48 ET22:48 GMT6:48 3:48 PM MST5:48 PM EST4:48 PM CST6:18 PM VEN2:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Matthew Boyd allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 6.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Wednesday. Boyd struck out 13, ending the game with a 3.18 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Matthew Boyd fell to 0-1, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-0 on Friday. Boyd struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Tor 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 6.2 15 11 11 5 1 0 7 2.40 14.85
2015 Det 1 4 0 - 0 11 10 0 50.2 56 39 37 12 19 0 36 1.48 6.57
2015 Tot 1 6 0 - 0 13 12 0 57.1 71 50 48 17 20 0 43 1.59 7.53
2016 Det 6 5 0 - 0 20 18 0 97.1 97 51 49 17 29 0 82 1.29 4.53
2017 Det 6 11 0 - 0 26 25 1 135.0 157 84 79 18 53 3 110 1.56 5.27
2018 Det 9 13 0 - 0 31 31 0 170.1 146 87 83 27 51 0 159 1.16 4.39
2019 Det 5 5 0 - 0 15 15 0 88.2 79 35 33 11 17 0 112 1.08 3.35
Career 27 40 0 - 0 105 101 1 548.2 550 307 292 90 170 3 506 1.31 4.79

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Det 26 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2018 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Det 15 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 105 7 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .286 .286 .286


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 758 96 86 91.5 53.16
Curveball 73 76 69 72 5.12
Slider 517 85 75 79.8 36.26
Changeup 78 81 77 79.1 5.47


@STATS_Insights