MLB

#64
Shawn Armstrong
ERA S K
5.57 0 33
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225
Position: RPBorn: 9/11/1990 Birthplace: New Bern, North Carolina
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 18th Round by Indians (2011)


Latest News
Aug. 7 1:37 PM PT2:37 PM MT3:37 PM CT4:37 PM ET16:37 ET20:37 GMT4:37 1:37 PM MST3:37 PM EST2:37 PM CST4:07 PM VEN0:37 UAE (+1)2:37 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-0 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.57 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
July 31 1:48 PM PT2:48 PM MT3:48 PM CT4:48 PM ET16:48 ET20:48 GMT4:48 1:48 PM MST3:48 PM EST2:48 PM CST4:18 PM VEN0:48 UAE (+1)2:48 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cleveland Guardians 5-3 on Sunday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.17 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
July 28 12:35 PM PT1:35 PM MT2:35 PM CT3:35 PM ET15:35 ET19:35 GMT3:35 12:35 PM MST2:35 PM EST1:35 PM CST3:05 PM VEN23:35 UAE1:35 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Thursday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
July 26 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-3 on Tuesday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
July 24 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST9:40 PM CST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Friday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 15 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed three hits without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-4 on Friday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 10 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two hits without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cincinnati Reds 10-5 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 5.47 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 6 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-1 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 8-4 on Tuesday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
July 3 2:09 PM PT3:09 PM MT4:09 PM CT5:09 PM ET17:09 ET21:09 GMT5:09 2:09 PM MST4:09 PM EST3:09 PM CST4:39 PM VEN1:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-3 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.95 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 29 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)2:14 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.59 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Tuesday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong improved to 1-1, allowing one hit over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 5-4 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 18 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST6:02 PM CST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Saturday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 16 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong fell to 0-1, allowing one run on one hit in 0.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 2-1 on Thursday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
June 11 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Saturday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 5.93 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 11-3 on Wednesday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 6.94 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
June 5 2:04 PM PT3:04 PM MT4:04 PM CT5:04 PM ET17:04 ET21:04 GMT5:04 2:04 PM MST4:04 PM EST3:04 PM CST4:34 PM VEN1:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-5 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 7.59 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 3 7:27 PM PT8:27 PM MT9:27 PM CT10:27 PM ET22:27 ET2:27 GMT10:27 7:27 PM MST9:27 PM EST8:27 PM CST9:57 PM VEN6:27 UAE (+1)8:27 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on three hits in 0.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-3 on Friday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with an 8.68 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:17 PM PT3:17 PM MT4:17 PM CT5:17 PM ET17:17 ET21:17 GMT5:17 2:17 PM MST4:17 PM EST3:17 PM CST4:47 PM VEN1:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Texas Rangers 3-1 on Thursday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)8:36 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 3-0 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)7:52 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed three runs on three hits in 0.1 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Seattle Mariners 8-6 on Friday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 10.80 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 9-7 on Saturday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 7.11 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Tuesday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 4.76 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST7:39 PM CST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)7:39 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs - zero earned - on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-3 on Saturday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)8:01 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 7-1 on Friday. Armstrong struck out two, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 9:25 PM PT10:25 PM MT11:25 PM CT12:25 AM ET0:25 ET4:25 GMT12:25 9:25 PM MST11:25 PM EST10:25 PM CST11:55 PM VEN8:25 UAE10:25 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Angels 6-2 on Monday. Armstrong did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)4:54 PM CT-Shawn Armstrong did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Sunday. Armstrong struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Cle 0 0 0 - 0 8 0 0 8.0 5 2 2 1 2 0 11 0.88 2.25
2016 Cle 0 0 0 - 0 10 0 0 10.2 9 3 3 1 5 2 7 1.31 2.53
2017 Cle 1 0 0 - 0 21 0 0 24.2 23 12 12 5 10 0 20 1.34 4.38
2018 Sea 0 1 1 - 1 14 0 0 14.2 9 2 2 1 3 1 15 0.82 1.23
2019 Sea 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 3.2 8 6 6 1 3 1 3 3.00 14.73
2019 Bal 1 0 4 - 9 51 0 0 54.1 58 32 31 7 26 0 60 1.55 5.13
2019 Tot 1 1 4 - 9 55 0 0 58.0 66 38 37 8 29 1 63 1.64 5.74
2020 Bal 2 0 0 - 0 14 0 0 15.0 9 6 3 1 3 0 14 0.80 1.80
2021 Bal 0 0 0 - 1 20 0 0 20.0 28 20 19 5 10 0 22 1.90 8.55
2021 TB 1 0 0 - 0 11 0 0 16.0 11 8 8 5 5 0 22 1.00 4.50
2021 Tot 1 0 0 - 1 31 0 0 36.0 39 28 27 10 15 0 44 1.50 6.75
2022 Mia 0 0 0 - 0 7 0 0 6.2 10 10 8 1 3 0 5 1.95 10.80
2022 TB 1 1 0 - 0 23 0 0 25.2 30 12 12 3 6 0 28 1.40 4.21
2022 Tot 1 1 0 - 0 30 0 0 32.1 40 22 20 4 9 0 33 1.52 5.57
Career 6 3 5 - 11 183 0 0 199.1 200 113 106 31 76 4 207 1.38 4.79



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 366 98 92 95.4 63.32
Curveball 55 88 83 85.8 9.52
Cut Fastball 157 94 87 91.6 27.16


@STATS_Insights