MLB

#35
Clay Holmes
ERA W-L K
0.44 4-0 19
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230
Position: SPBorn: 3/27/1993 Birthplace: Dothan, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Pirates (2011)


Latest News
May 18 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 2.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.44 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
May 15 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Sunday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.49 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.52 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 11 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST1:33 PM CST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE1:33 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.55 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
May 9 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST1:56 PM CST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 4-0, allowing no hits over 0.2 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Monday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.61 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST2:36 PM CST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)2:36 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 3-0, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Sunday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.64 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.69 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 2-0, allowing two hits over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Monday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.75 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-0 on Saturday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.84 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.93 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-8 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.04 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)2:04 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Guardians 5-4 on Saturday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.17 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST9:51 PM CST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-0 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Clay Holmes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 2.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run on three hits in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Friday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 4.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Pit 1 3 0 - 1 11 4 0 26.1 30 21 20 2 23 1 21 2.01 6.84
2019 Pit 1 2 0 - 1 35 0 0 50.0 45 36 31 5 36 1 56 1.62 5.58
2020 Pit 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 1.50 0.00
2021 Pit 3 2 0 - 0 44 0 0 42.0 35 24 23 3 25 2 44 1.43 4.93
2021 NYY 5 2 0 - 2 25 0 0 28.0 18 8 5 2 4 0 34 0.79 1.61
2021 Tot 8 4 0 - 2 69 0 0 70.0 53 32 28 5 29 2 78 1.17 3.60
2022 NYY 4 0 3 - 3 19 0 0 20.1 13 1 1 0 2 0 19 0.74 0.44
Career 14 9 3 - 7 135 4 0 168.0 143 90 80 12 90 4 175 1.39 4.29

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Pit 11 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Pit 35 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Pit 44 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Tot 69 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 135 12 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2021 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 207 99 92 96.2 79.92
Slider 52 89 82 85.2 20.08


@STATS_Insights