MLB

#35
Clay Holmes
ERA S K
0.53 12 35
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-5 / 230
Position: RPBorn: 3/27/1993 Birthplace: Dothan, Alabama
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 9th Round by Pirates (2011)


Latest News
June 26 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Clay Holmes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Sunday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.52 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)8:51 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his 12th save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.53 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
June 20 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 5-0, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2 on Monday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.55 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
June 18 3:17 PM PT4:17 PM MT5:17 PM CT6:17 PM ET18:17 ET22:17 GMT6:17 3:17 PM MST5:17 PM EST4:17 PM CST5:47 PM VEN2:17 UAE (+1)4:17 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.28 ERA and 0.66 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his 11th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.29 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
June 14 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his 10th save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-0 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.30 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
June 10 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.31 ERA and 0.66 WHIP on the season.
June 9 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his ninth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-7 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.33 ERA and 0.65 WHIP on the season.
June 4 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST1:41 PM CST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE1:41 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-0 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.34 ERA and 0.68 WHIP on the season.
June 2 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 2-1 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.35 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
May 27 6:38 PM PT7:38 PM MT8:38 PM CT9:38 PM ET21:38 ET1:38 GMT9:38 6:38 PM MST8:38 PM EST7:38 PM CST9:08 PM VEN5:38 UAE (+1)7:38 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-0 on Friday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.36 ERA and 0.69 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 2-0 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.38 ERA and 0.72 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.40 ERA and 0.66 WHIP on the season.
May 21 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)2:55 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-5 on Saturday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.42 ERA and 0.69 WHIP on the season.
May 18 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)7:43 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 2.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.44 ERA and 0.74 WHIP on the season.
May 15 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Sunday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.49 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 3-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.52 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
May 11 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST1:33 PM CST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE1:33 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.55 ERA and 0.73 WHIP on the season.
May 9 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST1:56 PM CST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 4-0, allowing no hits over 0.2 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Monday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.61 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST2:36 PM CST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)2:36 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 3-0, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Sunday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.64 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.69 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 2 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 2-0, allowing two hits over 1.1 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Monday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 0.75 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-0 on Saturday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.84 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his second save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.93 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-8 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.04 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)2:04 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Guardians 5-4 on Saturday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.17 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Clay Holmes did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Wednesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Clay Holmes recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST9:51 PM CST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-0 on Thursday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Clay Holmes improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.2 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0 on Tuesday. Holmes struck out two, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Clay Holmes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Saturday. Holmes struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 2.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 2:14 PM PT3:14 PM MT4:14 PM CT5:14 PM ET17:14 ET21:14 GMT5:14 2:14 PM MST4:14 PM EST3:14 PM CST4:44 PM VEN1:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Clay Holmes allowed one run on three hits in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Friday. Holmes did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 4.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Pit 1 3 0 - 1 11 4 0 26.1 30 21 20 2 23 1 21 2.01 6.84
2019 Pit 1 2 0 - 1 35 0 0 50.0 45 36 31 5 36 1 56 1.62 5.58
2020 Pit 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 1.50 0.00
2021 Pit 3 2 0 - 0 44 0 0 42.0 35 24 23 3 25 2 44 1.43 4.93
2021 NYY 5 2 0 - 2 25 0 0 28.0 18 8 5 2 4 0 34 0.79 1.61
2021 Tot 8 4 0 - 2 69 0 0 70.0 53 32 28 5 29 2 78 1.17 3.60
2022 NYY 4 0 12 - 13 32 0 0 33.2 20 2 2 0 4 0 35 0.71 0.53
Career 14 9 12 - 17 148 4 0 181.1 150 91 81 12 92 4 191 1.33 4.02

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Pit 11 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Pit 35 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Pit 44 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Tot 69 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 148 12 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2021 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 380 101 92 96.9 80.68
Slider 91 89 82 85.2 19.32


@STATS_Insights