MLB

#67
Nestor Cortes Jr.
ERA S K
5.67 0 69
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 5-11 / 190
Position: RPBorn: 12/10/1994 Birthplace: Surgidero de Batabano, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 36th Round by Yankees (2013)


Latest News
Sep. 28 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed two runs on four hits in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 9-4 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.67 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 27 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 14-7 on Friday. Cortes Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-3 on Sunday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 5.51 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. fell to 5-1, allowing three runs on three hits and two walks in 1.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-4 on Sunday. Cortes Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 5.54 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed four runs - two earned - on six hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Detroit Tigers 12-11 on Tuesday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed one run on one hit and two walks in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-1 on Friday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 5.13 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 4:05 PM PT5:05 PM MT6:05 PM CT7:05 PM ET19:05 ET23:05 GMT7:05 4:05 PM MST6:05 PM EST5:05 PM CST6:35 PM VEN3:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed four runs on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 7-0 on Monday. Cortes Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 5.03 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-2 on Friday. Cortes Jr. struck out four, ending the game with a 4.58 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed one run on one hit in 1.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Monday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 10:29 PM PT11:29 PM MT12:29 AM CT1:29 AM ET1:29 ET5:29 GMT13:29 10:29 PM MST12:29 AM EST11:29 PM CST12:59 AM VEN9:29 UAE12:29 AM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 10-2 on Friday. Cortes Jr. struck out four, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-4 on Sunday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Cleveland Indians 19-5 on Thursday. Cortes Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed two runs on three hits in 1.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 11-8 on Monday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-2 on Friday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. improved to 5-0, allowing one hit and one walk over 2.1 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-4 on Tuesday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-4 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-4 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
July 31 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed one run on one hit without recording an out as the New York Yankees defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-5 on Wednesday. Cortes Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.39 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 27 4:45 PM PT5:45 PM MT6:45 PM CT7:45 PM ET19:45 ET23:45 GMT7:45 4:45 PM MST6:45 PM EST5:45 PM CST7:15 PM VEN3:45 UAE (+1)6:45 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 9-5 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 24 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST9:40 PM CST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. improved to 4-0, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-7 on Wednesday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed one run on two hits and three walks in 3.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Thursday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
July 16 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-3 on Tuesday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 13 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 5 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. blew his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.2 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-4 on Friday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.78 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the New York Mets 5-1 on Wednesday. Cortes Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.04 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 29 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST3:57 PM CST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed five runs on five hits in 3.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 17-13 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 25 7:03 PM PT8:03 PM MT9:03 PM CT10:03 PM ET22:03 ET2:03 GMT10:03 7:03 PM MST9:03 PM EST8:03 PM CST9:33 PM VEN6:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. improved to 3-0, allowing two runs on four hits in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Tuesday. Cortes Jr. struck out five, ending the game with a 4.10 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
June 20 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 10-6 on Thursday. Cortes Jr. struck out one, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
June 15 8:13 PM PT9:13 PM MT10:13 PM CT11:13 PM ET23:13 ET3:13 GMT11:13 8:13 PM MST10:13 PM EST9:13 PM CST10:43 PM VEN7:13 UAE (+1)10:13 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.79 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
June 9 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. did not allow a hit or walk in 3.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-6 on Sunday. Cortes Jr. struck out two, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
May 29 12:55 PM PT1:55 PM MT2:55 PM CT3:55 PM ET15:55 ET19:55 GMT3:55 12:55 PM MST2:55 PM EST1:55 PM CST3:25 PM VEN23:55 UAE2:55 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the San Diego Padres 7-0 on Wednesday. Cortes Jr. did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Kansas City Royals 8-7 on Sunday. Cortes Jr. struck out four, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 19 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST2:45 PM CST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed three runs on three hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 13-5 on Sunday. Cortes Jr. struck out six, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 11 6:08 PM PT7:08 PM MT8:08 PM CT9:08 PM ET21:08 ET1:08 GMT9:08 6:08 PM MST8:08 PM EST7:08 PM CST8:38 PM VEN5:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Nestor Cortes Jr. allowed three runs on four hits in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 7-2 on Saturday. Cortes Jr. struck out three, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 10 4 4 2 4 0 3 3.00 7.71
2019 NYY 5 1 0 - 1 33 1 0 66.2 75 44 42 16 28 1 69 1.55 5.67
Career 5 1 0 - 1 37 1 0 71.1 85 48 46 18 32 1 72 1.64 5.80



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 683 94 86 89.4 52.5
Curveball 11 79 75 76.6 .85
Slider 449 87 65 81.3 34.51
Changeup 158 86 76 82.4 12.14


@STATS_Insights