MLB

#65
Nestor Cortes
ERA S K
2.57 0 115
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 5-11 / 210
Position: RPBorn: 12/10/1994 Birthplace: Surgidero de Batabano, Cuba
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 36th Round by Yankees (2013)


Latest News
Aug. 5 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed two runs on one hit and four walks in 5.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Friday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 2.57 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 30 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 9-3, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-2 on Saturday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 24 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 8-3, allowing six hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-0 on Sunday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 19 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Nestor Cortes walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 3-2 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 14 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Thursday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed four runs on eight hits and two walks in 3.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 12-5 on Friday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
July 2 6:23 PM PT7:23 PM MT8:23 PM CT9:23 PM ET21:23 ET1:23 GMT9:23 6:23 PM MST8:23 PM EST7:23 PM CST8:53 PM VEN5:23 UAE (+1)7:23 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 7-3, allowing one run on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Guardians 6-1 on Saturday. Cortes struck out six, ending the game with a 2.44 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
June 26 2:30 PM PT3:30 PM MT4:30 PM CT5:30 PM ET17:30 ET21:30 GMT5:30 2:30 PM MST4:30 PM EST3:30 PM CST5:00 PM VEN1:30 UAE (+1)3:30 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Sunday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.51 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
June 21 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)7:57 PM CT-Nestor Cortes fell to 6-3, allowing four runs on six hits in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 6-2, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out four, ending the game with a 1.94 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Nestor Cortes fell to 5-2, allowing four runs on seven hits in 4.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-1 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
June 2 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET17:50 ET21:50 GMT5:50 2:50 PM MST4:50 PM EST3:50 PM CST5:20 PM VEN1:50 UAE (+1)3:50 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 5-1, allowing five hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 6-1 on Thursday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
May 26 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 4-1, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-2 on Thursday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 1.70 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 21 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)2:55 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 3-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 7-5 on Saturday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
May 15 1:49 PM PT2:49 PM MT3:49 PM CT4:49 PM ET16:49 ET20:49 GMT4:49 1:49 PM MST3:49 PM EST2:49 PM CST4:19 PM VEN0:49 UAE (+1)2:49 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 2-1, allowing one run on three hits in 8.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago White Sox 5-1 on Sunday. Cortes struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
May 9 12:56 PM PT1:56 PM MT2:56 PM CT3:56 PM ET15:56 ET19:56 GMT3:56 12:56 PM MST2:56 PM EST1:56 PM CST3:26 PM VEN23:56 UAE1:56 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed one hit and four walks without giving up a run in 7.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 1-0 on Monday. Cortes struck out 11, ending the game with a 1.41 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
May 4 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)8:00 PM CT-Nestor Cortes fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-1 on Wednesday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 1.82 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST9:52 PM CST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Nestor Cortes improved to 1-0, allowing two runs - one earned - on seven hits in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 12-2 on Friday. Cortes struck out three, ending the game with a 1.31 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)2:04 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed two runs on one hit and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cleveland Guardians 5-4 on Saturday. Cortes struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.15 ERA and 0.64 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)2:28 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-0 on Sunday. Cortes struck out 12, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Nestor Cortes allowed three hits without giving up a run in 4.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-0 on Tuesday. Cortes struck out five, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.69 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 4.2 10 4 4 2 4 0 3 3.00 7.71
2019 NYY 5 1 0 - 1 33 1 0 66.2 75 44 42 16 28 1 69 1.55 5.67
2020 Sea 0 1 0 - 0 5 1 0 7.2 12 14 13 6 6 0 8 2.35 15.26
2021 NYY 2 3 0 - 0 22 14 0 93.0 75 32 30 14 25 0 103 1.08 2.90
2022 NYY 9 3 0 - 0 20 20 0 112.0 86 33 32 13 28 0 115 1.02 2.57
Career 16 8 0 - 1 84 36 0 284.0 258 127 121 51 91 1 298 1.23 3.83

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 NYY 23 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 85 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 794 95 87 91.7 44.91
Slider 310 82 68 77.5 17.53
Changeup 73 86 79 82.8 4.13
Cut Fastball 591 91 82 86.8 33.43


@STATS_Insights