MLB

#72
Yonny Chirinos
ERA W-L K
2.38 0-0 10
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 12/26/1993 Birthplace: Bachaquero, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rays (2012)


Latest News
Aug. 19 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Chirinos is expected to need Tommy John surgery, according to the Tampa Bay Times.
Analysis: Chirinos made two starts before landing on the injured list with triceps inflammation, then lasted just 2 2/3 innings in Sunday's return before exiting with a right elbow strain. If he indeed undergoes a Tommy John procedure, the right-hander would be in danger of missing all of 2021 as well.
Aug. 16 4:04 PM PT5:04 PM MT6:04 PM CT7:04 PM ET19:04 ET23:04 GMT7:04 4:04 PM MST6:04 PM EST5:04 PM CST6:34 PM VEN3:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed two runs on five hits in 2.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Sunday. Chirinos struck out three, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 1:23 PM PT2:23 PM MT3:23 PM CT4:23 PM ET16:23 ET20:23 GMT4:23 1:23 PM MST3:23 PM EST2:23 PM CST3:53 PM VEN0:23 UAE (+1)3:23 PM CT-Chirinos (right triceps inflammation) has been activated from the injured list and will start Sunday against Toronto.
Analysis: Chirinos isn't a strong candidate for wins, as he's lasted less than five innings in each of his two starts before going on the IL on Aug. 3. The right-hander has allowed just two runs - one earned - in those outings, however.
Aug. 2 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed one run on five hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 5-1 on Sunday. Chirinos struck out three, ending the game with a 1.04 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 28 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed one run - zero earned - on four hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Atlanta Braves 5-2 on Tuesday. Chirinos struck out four, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 TB 5 5 0 - 0 18 7 0 89.2 84 40 35 7 25 2 75 1.22 3.51
2019 TB 9 5 0 - 0 26 18 0 133.1 112 61 57 23 28 1 114 1.05 3.85
2020 TB 0 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 11.1 14 4 3 2 4 0 10 1.59 2.38
Career 14 10 0 - 0 47 28 0 234.1 210 105 95 32 57 3 199 1.14 3.65

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 TB 18 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 TB 26 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 47 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 115 96 90 93.4 60.53
Slider 30 91 84 88.1 15.79
Split-Finger 45 87 81 85.1 23.68


@STATS_Insights