MLB

#67
John Means
ERA S K
2.95 0 74
Team: BaltimoreHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230
Position: RPBorn: 4/24/1993 Birthplace: Olathe, Kansas
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 11th Round by Orioles (2014)


Latest News
July 19 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-John Means improved to 8-5, allowing two runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 11-2 on Friday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-John Means fell to 7-5, allowing six runs on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 12-4 on Saturday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-John Means allowed three runs - two earned - on six hits in 7.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 9-6 on Wednesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-John Means improved to 7-4, allowing one hit and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Cleveland Indians 13-0 on Friday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.50 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 20 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST3:00 PM CST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Means (strained right shoulder) has been activated from the injured list and will start Friday against the Indians.
Analysis: Means will wind up missing only one turn through the rotation. One of the bright spots in another dismal season in Baltimore, the lefty has delivered a solid 2.86 ERA and 1.16 WHIP in 12 starts.
June 16 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST3:59 PM CST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-John Means allowed two runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-6 on Sunday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-John Means improved to 6-4, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 4-2 on Tuesday. Means struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 6 9:32 PM PT10:32 PM MT11:32 PM CT12:32 AM ET0:32 ET4:32 GMT12:32 9:32 PM MST11:32 PM EST10:32 PM CST12:02 AM VEN8:32 UAE11:32 PM CT-John Means allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Texas Rangers 2-1 on Wednesday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
May 29 6:46 PM PT7:46 PM MT8:46 PM CT9:46 PM ET21:46 ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST8:46 PM EST7:46 PM CST9:16 PM VEN5:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-John Means allowed one run on three hits in 6.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Wednesday. Means struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 25 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-John Means allowed three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-6 on Friday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.96 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)5:49 PM CT-John Means fell to 5-4, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Saturday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 12 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-John Means improved to 5-3, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Los Angeles Angels 5-1 on Sunday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.33 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 6 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-John Means improved to 4-3, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-1 on Monday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 2.48 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST9:36 PM CST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-John Means fell to 3-3, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-3 on Monday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-John Means improved to 3-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Wednesday. Means struck out six, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 18 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-John Means improved to 2-2, allowing no hits and one walk over 2.0 scoreless innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5 on Thursday. Means struck out four, ending the game with a 1.72 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST2:16 PM CST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-John Means fell to 1-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Boston Red Sox 4-0 on Sunday. Means struck out three, ending the game with a 1.98 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-John Means fell to 1-1, allowing five runs - one earned - on four hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the Oakland Athletics 13-2 on Tuesday. Means struck out one, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-John Means did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 6-4 on Saturday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 3:41 PM PT4:41 PM MT5:41 PM CT6:41 PM ET18:41 ET22:41 GMT6:41 3:41 PM MST5:41 PM EST4:41 PM CST6:11 PM VEN2:41 UAE (+1)5:41 PM CT-John Means walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Baltimore Orioles lost to the New York Yankees 8-4 on Thursday. Means struck out two, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST6:14 PM CST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-John Means improved to 1-0, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 3.1 innings, as the Baltimore Orioles defeated the New York Yankees 7-5 on Sunday. Means struck out five, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 Bal 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 3.1 6 5 5 1 0 0 4 1.80 13.50
2019 Bal 8 5 0 - 0 20 16 0 94.2 79 36 31 13 24 0 74 1.09 2.95
Career 8 5 0 - 0 21 16 0 98.0 85 41 36 14 24 0 78 1.11 3.31

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Bal 20 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -
Career 21 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 - 1.000 -


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 885 95 88 91.8 52.37
Curveball 74 78 73 76 4.38
Slider 239 88 79 83.8 14.14
Changeup 492 85 75 80.6 29.11


@STATS_Insights