MLB

#64
Sean Poppen
ERA S K
5.16 1 26
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 205
Position: RPBorn: 3/15/1994 Birthplace: Virginia Beach, Virginia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 19th Round by Twins (2016)


Latest News
Oct. 3 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST4:37 PM CST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Sean Poppen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-4 on Sunday. Poppen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.16 ERA and 1.76 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 1 10:20 PM PT11:20 PM MT12:20 AM CT1:20 AM ET1:20 ET5:20 GMT13:20 10:20 PM MST12:20 AM EST11:20 PM CST12:50 AM VEN9:20 UAE11:20 PM CT-Sean Poppen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Thursday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 29 10:34 PM PT11:34 PM MT12:34 AM CT1:34 AM ET1:34 ET5:34 GMT13:34 10:34 PM MST12:34 AM EST11:34 PM CST1:04 AM VEN9:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-Sean Poppen fell to 1-1, allowing four runs - one earned - on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 6-4 on Tuesday. Poppen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.23 ERA and 1.94 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 4:46 PM PT5:46 PM MT6:46 PM CT7:46 PM ET19:46 ET23:46 GMT7:46 4:46 PM MST6:46 PM EST5:46 PM CST7:16 PM VEN3:46 UAE (+1)5:46 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed two hits without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-0 on Sunday. Poppen struck out two, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE10:44 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-2 on Friday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.03 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 3:49 PM PT4:49 PM MT5:49 PM CT6:49 PM ET18:49 ET22:49 GMT6:49 3:49 PM MST5:49 PM EST4:49 PM CST6:19 PM VEN2:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Sean Poppen improved to 1-0, allowing one hit over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Thursday. Poppen struck out two, ending the game with a 5.30 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST11:14 PM CST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE11:14 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-4 on Monday. Poppen struck out three, ending the game with a 5.60 ERA and 1.87 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST3:33 PM CST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)3:33 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.1 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Houston Astros 7-6 on Sunday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.32 ERA and 2.04 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST11:41 PM CST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE11:41 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Wednesday. Poppen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.46 ERA and 2.02 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 4:18 PM PT5:18 PM MT6:18 PM CT7:18 PM ET19:18 ET23:18 GMT7:18 4:18 PM MST6:18 PM EST5:18 PM CST6:48 PM VEN3:18 UAE (+1)5:18 PM CT-Sean Poppen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Sunday. Poppen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE10:12 PM CT-Sean Poppen did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-3 on Saturday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 5:05 PM PT6:05 PM MT7:05 PM CT8:05 PM ET20:05 ET0:05 GMT8:05 5:05 PM MST7:05 PM EST6:05 PM CST7:35 PM VEN4:05 UAE (+1)6:05 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed three runs on three hits in 0.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Seattle Mariners 10-4 on Sunday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.95 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Seattle Mariners 8-5 on Saturday. Poppen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 10:23 PM PT11:23 PM MT12:23 AM CT1:23 AM ET1:23 ET5:23 GMT13:23 10:23 PM MST12:23 AM EST11:23 PM CST12:53 AM VEN9:23 UAE11:23 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 7-5 on Monday. Poppen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.89 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 15 4:38 PM PT5:38 PM MT6:38 PM CT7:38 PM ET19:38 ET23:38 GMT7:38 4:38 PM MST6:38 PM EST5:38 PM CST7:08 PM VEN3:38 UAE (+1)5:38 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed two runs on one hit and three walks in 0.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Diego Padres 8-2 on Sunday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 5.25 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Sean Poppen did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Diego Padres 12-3 on Thursday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 3.97 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 10:02 PM PT11:02 PM MT12:02 AM CT1:02 AM ET1:02 ET5:02 GMT13:02 10:02 PM MST12:02 AM EST11:02 PM CST12:32 AM VEN9:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Sean Poppen walked one and didn't allow a hit in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 8-7 on Tuesday. Poppen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 10:28 PM PT11:28 PM MT12:28 AM CT1:28 AM ET1:28 ET5:28 GMT13:28 10:28 PM MST12:28 AM EST11:28 PM CST12:58 AM VEN9:28 UAE11:28 PM CT-Sean Poppen recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 2.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Diego Padres 8-5 on Friday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 10:22 PM PT11:22 PM MT12:22 AM CT1:22 AM ET1:22 ET5:22 GMT13:22 10:22 PM MST12:22 AM EST11:22 PM CST12:52 AM VEN9:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 7-1 on Wednesday. Poppen struck out three, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 10:49 PM PT11:49 PM MT12:49 AM CT1:49 AM ET1:49 ET5:49 GMT13:49 10:49 PM MST12:49 AM EST11:49 PM CST1:19 AM VEN9:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 11-8 on Monday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.14 ERA and 2.05 WHIP on the season.
July 25 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)2:02 PM CT-Sean Poppen did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Cleveland Indians 3-2 on Sunday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.44 WHIP on the season.
May 1 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed five runs - two earned - on five hits in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 12-5 on Saturday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.79 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)8:37 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed two runs on four hits and two walks in 1.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Kansas City Royals 9-6 on Wednesday. Poppen struck out one, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 2.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)7:56 PM CT-Sean Poppen allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 7-1 on Saturday. Poppen struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 Min 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 8.1 10 7 7 1 5 0 9 1.80 7.56
2020 Min 0 0 0 - 0 6 0 0 7.2 9 4 4 0 4 0 10 1.70 4.70
2021 Pit 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 4.2 11 7 4 1 2 0 4 2.79 7.71
2021 TB 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00 0.00
2021 Ari 1 1 1 - 1 20 0 0 17.1 20 11 9 1 7 2 21 1.56 4.67
2021 Tot 1 1 1 - 1 24 0 0 22.2 31 18 13 2 9 2 26 1.76 5.16
Career 1 1 1 - 1 34 0 0 38.2 50 29 24 3 18 2 45 1.76 5.59

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 Pit 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Tot 24 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 34 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 214 97 92 94.3 52.71
Slider 154 87 79 84 37.93
Changeup 38 88 84 86.2 9.36


@STATS_Insights