MLB

#51
David Bednar
ERA S K
0.90 8 27
Team: PittsburghHt / Wt: 6-1 / 249
Position: RPBorn: 10/10/1994 Birthplace: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: 35th Round by Padres (2016)


Latest News
May 18 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST8:50 PM CST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his eighth save, allowing no runs on one hit in 2.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Wednesday. Bednar struck out two, ending the game with a 0.90 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
May 15 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)2:17 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his seventh save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 1-0 on Sunday. Bednar did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.00 ERA and 0.61 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:36 PM PT7:36 PM MT8:36 PM CT9:36 PM ET21:36 ET1:36 GMT9:36 6:36 PM MST8:36 PM EST7:36 PM CST9:06 PM VEN5:36 UAE (+1)7:36 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his sixth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.1 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 3-1 on Saturday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 1.06 ERA and 0.65 WHIP on the season.
May 11 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST2:03 PM CST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)2:03 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his fifth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 2.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-3 on Wednesday. Bednar struck out three, ending the game with a 1.15 ERA and 0.70 WHIP on the season.
May 9 6:22 PM PT7:22 PM MT8:22 PM CT9:22 PM ET21:22 ET1:22 GMT9:22 6:22 PM MST8:22 PM EST7:22 PM CST8:52 PM VEN5:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-David Bednar allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Monday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 1.32 ERA and 0.80 WHIP on the season.
May 7 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST8:33 PM CST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)8:33 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his fourth save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-5 on Saturday. Bednar struck out three, ending the game with a 0.71 ERA and 0.79 WHIP on the season.
May 4 4:44 PM PT5:44 PM MT6:44 PM CT7:44 PM ET19:44 ET23:44 GMT7:44 4:44 PM MST6:44 PM EST5:44 PM CST7:14 PM VEN3:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his third save, allowing no runs on one hit in 2.0 innings, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-2 on Wednesday. Bednar struck out three, ending the game with a 0.77 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST7:54 PM CST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)7:54 PM CT-David Bednar allowed one run on one hit in 0.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the San Diego Padres 7-6 on Saturday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 0.93 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE1:54 PM CT-David Bednar did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2 on Thursday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his second save, allowing no runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Sunday. Bednar struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-David Bednar allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Friday. Bednar struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-David Bednar did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-3 on Thursday. Bednar struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-David Bednar recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Washington Nationals 5-3 on Sunday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-David Bednar allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Pittsburgh Pirates defeated the Washington Nationals 6-4 on Saturday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-David Bednar did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Tuesday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST3:53 PM CST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-David Bednar allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Pittsburgh Pirates lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-2 on Saturday. Bednar struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2019 SD 0 2 0 - 0 13 0 0 11.0 10 8 8 3 5 0 14 1.36 6.55
2020 SD 0 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 6.1 11 6 5 1 2 0 5 2.05 7.11
2021 Pit 3 1 3 - 5 61 0 0 60.2 40 15 15 5 19 2 77 0.97 2.23
2022 Pit 0 0 8 - 8 16 0 0 20.0 9 2 2 2 3 1 27 0.60 0.90
Career 3 3 11 - 13 94 0 0 98.0 70 31 30 11 29 3 123 1.01 2.76

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 Pit 61 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 94 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 168 99 93 96.5 63.64
Curveball 64 79 75 77.1 24.24
Split-Finger 32 92 87 89.4 12.12


@STATS_Insights