MLB

#44
Jason Vargas
ERA W-L K
4.51 7-9 124
Team: PhiladelphiaHt / Wt: 6-0 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 2/2/1983 Birthplace: Apple Valley, California
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Marlins (2004)


Latest News
Sep. 26 4:35 PM PT5:35 PM MT6:35 PM CT7:35 PM ET19:35 ET23:35 GMT7:35 4:35 PM MST6:35 PM EST5:35 PM CST7:05 PM VEN3:35 UAE (+1)6:35 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 7-9, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and five walks in 4.1 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Washington Nationals 6-3 on Thursday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 4.51 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 7-8, allowing four runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Cleveland Indians 9-4 on Saturday. Vargas struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 6-8, allowing five runs - four earned - on three hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-3 on Sunday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 4.48 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs - two earned - on six hits and three walks in 3.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 1:17 PM PT2:17 PM MT3:17 PM CT4:17 PM ET16:17 ET20:17 GMT4:17 1:17 PM MST3:17 PM EST2:17 PM CST3:47 PM VEN0:17 UAE (+1)3:17 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on four hits in 5.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Thursday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST5:54 PM CST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 6-7, allowing five runs on nine hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the New York Mets 6-3 on Saturday. Vargas struck out two, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Monday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST2:36 PM CST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the San Diego Padres 3-2 on Sunday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies defeated the Chicago Cubs 4-2 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST10:54 PM CST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 6-6, allowing four runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-1 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 9:42 PM PT10:42 PM MT11:42 PM CT12:42 AM ET0:42 ET4:42 GMT12:42 9:42 PM MST11:42 PM EST10:42 PM CST12:12 AM VEN8:42 UAE11:42 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the Philadelphia Phillies lost to the Chicago White Sox 4-3 on Friday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:38 PM PT2:38 PM MT3:38 PM CT4:38 PM ET16:38 ET20:38 GMT4:38 1:38 PM MST3:38 PM EST2:38 PM CST4:08 PM VEN0:38 UAE (+1)3:38 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 6-5, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-7 on Sunday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 4.01 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 5-5, allowing one hit and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the San Diego Padres 5-2 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 17 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 4-5, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Minnesota Twins 14-4 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 4.25 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 12 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 3-5, allowing six runs on five hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Miami Marlins 8-4 on Friday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 3-4, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the New York Yankees 5-1 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 26 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 21 2:37 PM PT3:37 PM MT4:37 PM CT5:37 PM ET17:37 ET21:37 GMT5:37 2:37 PM MST4:37 PM EST3:37 PM CST5:07 PM VEN1:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs - two earned - on four hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-4 on Friday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 16 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-Vargas allowed three runs - two earned - on one hit and three walks before leaving Sunday's start against the Cardinals after four innings with a cramp in his left calf.
Analysis: Vargas' removal was precautionary and he's expected to make his next scheduled start. The veteran lefty has been quite solid over the past few weeks, having posted a 2-1 record with a 2.03 ERA and 1.16 WHIP over his last five starts.
June 11 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 3-3, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the New York Yankees 10-4 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 2-3, allowing five hits and one walk in a complete-game shutout, as the New York Mets defeated the San Francisco Giants 7-0 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 31 9:59 PM PT10:59 PM MT11:59 PM CT12:59 AM ET0:59 ET4:59 GMT12:59 9:59 PM MST11:59 PM EST10:59 PM CST12:29 AM VEN8:59 UAE11:59 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 1-3, allowing one run on six hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-0 on Thursday. Vargas struck out six, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.51 WHIP on the season.
May 25 5:25 PM PT6:25 PM MT7:25 PM CT8:25 PM ET20:25 ET0:25 GMT8:25 5:25 PM MST7:25 PM EST6:25 PM CST7:55 PM VEN4:25 UAE (+1)7:25 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed one run on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Saturday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
May 7 9:56 PM PT10:56 PM MT11:56 PM CT12:56 AM ET0:56 ET4:56 GMT12:56 9:56 PM MST11:56 PM EST10:56 PM CST12:26 AM VEN8:56 UAE11:56 PM CT-Vargas (left hamstring tightness) threw an extended bullpen Tuesday. He is eligible to come off the injured list Thursday.
Analysis: Vargas (1-2, 5.96) hasn't been very good, but the Mets could still use him with fellow rotation member Steven Matz also currently out with an injury.
May 5 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on three hits in 4.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-2 on Sunday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 5.92 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Vargas was removed for a pinch-hitter in the fifth inning after experiencing mild hamstring tightness, a tough break for a Mets team that needed some length from its starter after playing 18 innings on Saturday. "He had a lot of pitches left. It is just unfortunate," manager Mickey Callaway said.
Apr. 30 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out five, ending the game with a 5.75 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Jason Vargas fell to 1-1, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 6-0 on Wednesday. Vargas struck out four, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST9:52 PM CST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed one run on three hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 5-4 on Friday. Vargas struck out three, ending the game with a 9.58 ERA and 2.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs on two hits and three walks in 0.1 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-7 on Saturday. Vargas did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 14.21 ERA and 2.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)10:48 PM CT-Jason Vargas allowed four runs on four hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Mets lost to the Minnesota Twins 14-8 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Jason Vargas improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on eight hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Miami Marlins 6-5 on Tuesday. Vargas struck out two, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Fla 5 5 0 - 0 17 13 1 73.2 71 34 33 4 31 4 59 1.38 4.03
2006 Fla 1 2 0 - 0 12 5 0 43.0 50 39 35 9 30 3 25 1.86 7.33
2007 NYM 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.1 17 14 14 4 2 1 4 1.84 12.19
2009 Sea 3 6 0 - 0 23 14 0 91.2 98 53 50 16 24 1 54 1.33 4.91
2010 Sea 9 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 192.2 187 86 81 18 54 3 116 1.25 3.78
2011 Sea 10 13 0 - 0 32 32 4 201.0 205 105 95 22 59 4 131 1.31 4.25
2012 Sea 14 11 0 - 0 33 33 2 217.1 201 94 93 35 55 1 141 1.18 3.85
2013 LAA 9 8 0 - 0 24 24 3 150.0 162 68 67 17 46 2 109 1.39 4.02
2014 KC 11 10 0 - 0 30 30 1 187.0 197 82 77 19 41 4 128 1.27 3.71
2015 KC 5 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 43.0 46 20 19 5 12 0 27 1.35 3.98
2016 KC 0 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 12.0 8 3 3 1 3 0 11 0.92 2.25
2017 KC 18 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 179.2 181 84 83 27 58 2 134 1.33 4.16
2018 NYM 7 9 0 - 0 20 20 0 92.0 100 60 59 18 30 1 84 1.41 5.77
2019 NYM 6 5 0 - 0 19 18 1 94.1 81 45 42 14 39 2 81 1.27 4.01
2019 Phi 1 4 0 - 0 11 11 0 55.1 60 39 33 7 24 0 43 1.52 5.37
2019 Tot 7 9 0 - 0 30 29 1 149.2 141 84 75 21 63 2 124 1.36 4.51
Career 99 99 0 - 0 298 277 13 1643.0 1664 826 784 216 508 28 1147 1.32 4.29

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2005 Fla 18 26 3 8 2 0 0 2 1 7 0 0 .308 .333 .385
2006 Fla 12 16 1 5 1 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .313 .353 .375
2007 NYM 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Sea 23 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2010 Sea 31 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Sea 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Sea 33 5 2 2 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .400 .500 .400
2017 KC 32 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .250 .250 .250
2018 NYM 21 27 2 4 0 0 0 0 1 8 0 0 .148 .179 .148
2019 NYM 19 28 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 16 0 0 .071 .071 .071
2019 Phi 11 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .083 .083 .083
2019 Tot 30 40 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 22 0 0 .075 .075 .075
Career 300 132 8 24 3 0 0 4 4 47 0 0 .182 .206 .205

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 KC Total 2 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 30.2 22 12 12 6 12 0 22 3.52
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 3 2 2 2 1 0 2 3.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 2 1 1 1 3 0 6 1.69
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 6 3 3 0 2 0 3 6.75
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 11 6 6 3 6 0 11 3.52

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 KC Total 6 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1373 88 80 84.3 49.71
Curveball 413 76 66 70.6 14.95
Changeup 976 82 74 78.8 35.34


@STATS_Insights