MLB

#36
Edinson Vólquez
ERA W-L K
6.75 0-1 10
Team: TexasHt / Wt: 6-0 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 7/3/1983 Birthplace: Barahona Province, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rangers (2001)


Latest News
Sep. 27 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)10:49 PM CT-Edinson Volquez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the New York Yankees 14-7 on Friday. Volquez struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 9:09 PM PT10:09 PM MT11:09 PM CT12:09 AM ET0:09 ET4:09 GMT12:09 9:09 PM MST11:09 PM EST10:09 PM CST11:39 PM VEN8:09 UAE11:09 PM CT-Edinson Volquez allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Texas Rangers lost to the Boston Red Sox 12-10 on Tuesday. Volquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.20 ERA and 2.07 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 22 4:28 PM PT5:28 PM MT6:28 PM CT7:28 PM ET19:28 ET23:28 GMT7:28 4:28 PM MST6:28 PM EST5:28 PM CST6:58 PM VEN3:28 UAE (+1)6:28 PM CT-Edinson Volquez did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-3 on Sunday. Volquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.02 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Edinson Volquez did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Houston Astros 3-2 on Wednesday. Volquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.27 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST10:01 PM CST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Edinson Volquez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-6 on Saturday. Volquez struck out one, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.97 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 12 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Edinson Volquez allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 10-9 on Wednesday. Volquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.17 ERA and 2.06 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Edinson Volquez allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Texas Rangers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-4 on Saturday. Volquez struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 2.06 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 3 6:20 PM PT7:20 PM MT8:20 PM CT9:20 PM ET21:20 ET1:20 GMT9:20 6:20 PM MST8:20 PM EST7:20 PM CST8:50 PM VEN5:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Edinson Volquez fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Texas Rangers lost to the New York Yankees 10-1 on Tuesday. Volquez did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.45 ERA and 2.17 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 3:53 PM PT4:53 PM MT5:53 PM CT6:53 PM ET18:53 ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST5:53 PM EST4:53 PM CST6:23 PM VEN2:53 UAE (+1)5:53 PM CT-Edinson Volquez walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Texas Rangers lost to the Seattle Mariners 11-3 on Sunday. Volquez struck out one, ending the game with a 6.23 ERA and 2.19 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 5:28 PM PT6:28 PM MT7:28 PM CT8:28 PM ET20:28 ET0:28 GMT8:28 5:28 PM MST7:28 PM EST6:28 PM CST7:58 PM VEN4:28 UAE (+1)7:28 PM CT-Volquez (right elbow sprain), who says he plans to retire after the season, came off the injured list Sunday.
Analysis: The veteran will be a high-risk player, as he missed all of last season recovering from Tommy John surgery and has pitched just 7 2/3 innings this year.
Apr. 5 11:01 PM PT12:01 AM MT1:01 AM CT2:01 AM ET2:01 ET6:01 GMT14:01 11:01 PM MST1:01 AM EST12:01 AM CST1:31 AM VEN10:01 UAE1:01 AM CT-Edinson Volquez allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 3.2 innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the Los Angeles Angels 11-4 on Thursday. Volquez struck out three, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 2.35 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Edinson Volquez allowed four runs on six hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Texas Rangers defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-6 on Saturday. Volquez struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 Tex 0 4 0 - 0 6 3 0 12.2 25 22 20 3 10 0 11 2.76 14.21
2006 Tex 1 6 0 - 0 8 8 0 33.1 52 28 27 7 17 0 15 2.07 7.29
2007 Tex 2 1 0 - 0 6 6 0 34.0 34 18 17 4 15 0 29 1.44 4.50
2008 Cin 17 6 0 - 0 33 32 0 196.0 167 82 70 14 93 5 206 1.33 3.21
2009 Cin 4 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 49.2 34 25 24 6 32 0 47 1.33 4.35
2010 Cin 4 3 0 - 0 12 12 0 62.2 59 30 30 6 35 0 67 1.50 4.31
2011 Cin 5 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 108.2 106 72 69 19 65 3 104 1.57 5.71
2012 SD 11 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 182.2 160 88 84 14 105 6 174 1.45 4.14
2013 SD 9 10 0 - 0 27 27 0 142.1 168 100 95 14 69 2 116 1.67 6.01
2013 LAD 0 2 0 - 0 6 5 0 28.0 25 14 13 5 8 0 26 1.18 4.18
2013 Tot 9 12 0 - 0 33 32 0 170.1 193 114 108 19 77 2 142 1.59 5.71
2014 Pit 13 7 0 - 0 32 31 1 192.2 166 75 65 17 71 6 140 1.23 3.04
2015 KC 13 9 0 - 0 34 33 1 200.1 190 89 79 16 72 1 155 1.31 3.55
2016 KC 10 11 0 - 0 34 34 0 189.1 217 124 113 23 76 1 139 1.55 5.37
2017 Mia 4 8 0 - 0 17 17 1 92.1 78 46 43 8 53 3 81 1.42 4.19
2019 Tex 0 1 0 - 0 11 4 0 16.0 20 12 12 3 12 0 10 2.00 6.75
Career 93 88 0 - 0 287 273 4 1540.2 1501 825 761 159 733 27 1320 1.45 4.45

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Cin 33 61 3 6 0 0 0 1 0 31 0 0 .098 .098 .098
2009 Cin 9 16 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .063 .063 .063
2010 Cin 12 17 1 2 0 0 0 0 1 7 0 0 .118 .167 .118
2011 Cin 20 26 2 3 0 0 0 0 1 13 0 0 .115 .148 .115
2012 SD 32 56 2 4 1 0 0 1 1 29 0 0 .071 .088 .089
2013 SD 27 34 3 4 1 0 1 4 1 20 0 0 .118 .143 .235
2013 LAD 6 8 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2013 Tot 33 42 4 5 1 0 1 4 1 23 0 0 .119 .140 .214
2014 Pit 32 53 3 2 0 0 0 2 3 27 0 0 .038 .089 .038
2015 KC 34 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 KC 34 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Mia 17 26 0 5 0 0 0 1 1 11 0 0 .192 .214 .192
Career 287 308 15 28 2 0 1 9 8 156 0 0 .091 .114 .107

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2010 Cin Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 4 4 4 0 2 0 0 21.60
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.2 4 4 4 0 2 0 0 21.60
2014 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 1 3 0 3 9.00
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 1 3 0 3 9.00
2015 KC Total 1 2 0 - 0 5 5 0 28.2 18 13 12 3 18 2 23 3.77
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 5 3 3 0 4 1 8 4.76
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.0 5 5 5 1 8 0 7 4.09
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 8 5 4 2 6 1 8 3.00
Career 1 4 0 - 0 7 7 0 35.1 27 22 21 4 23 2 26 5.35

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WC 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 KC Total 5 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
    WS 2 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 7 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 142 97 89 93.4 47.81
Curveball 46 85 75 80.9 15.49
Changeup 109 87 79 83.1 36.7


@STATS_Insights