MLB

#31
Max Scherzer
ERA W-L K
2.41 9-5 192
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 7/27/1984 Birthplace: St. Louis, Missouri
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Diamondbacks (2006)


Latest News
Aug. 22 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-1 on Thursday. Scherzer struck out three, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 26 1:31 PM PT2:31 PM MT3:31 PM CT4:31 PM ET16:31 ET20:31 GMT4:31 1:31 PM MST3:31 PM EST2:31 PM CST4:01 PM VEN0:31 UAE (+1)3:31 PM CT-Scherzer (mild rhomboid strain) came off the injured list Thursday to face the Pirates in Pittsburgh.
Analysis: The three-time Cy Young winner has only pitched once since July 7. He threw five innings July 25 against the Rockies in his first start since missing nearly three weeks with a back issue, but he experienced renewed discomfort. Scherzer permitted three runs to Colorado after posting a 0.87 ERA in winning each of his previous seven starts. It ended a career-best streak of 14 consecutive quality starts.
July 25 4:55 PM PT5:55 PM MT6:55 PM CT7:55 PM ET19:55 ET23:55 GMT7:55 4:55 PM MST6:55 PM EST5:55 PM CST7:25 PM VEN3:55 UAE (+1)6:55 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Colorado Rockies 8-7 on Thursday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
July 7 10:33 AM PT11:33 AM MT12:33 PM CT1:33 PM ET13:33 ET17:33 GMT1:33 10:33 AM MST12:33 PM EST11:33 AM CST1:03 PM VEN21:33 UAE12:33 PM CT-Scherzer (back strain) will return to start Thursday against the Rockies.
Analysis: Scherzer will get a chance to attempt to continue the tremendous run he was on before going on the IL earlier this month. The Cy Young candidate has won each of his last seven starts and owns a spectacular 0.84 ERA and 0.77 WHIP over his past nine outings.
July 6 3:54 PM PT4:54 PM MT5:54 PM CT6:54 PM ET18:54 ET22:54 GMT6:54 3:54 PM MST5:54 PM EST4:54 PM CST6:24 PM VEN2:54 UAE (+1)5:54 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 9-5, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-0 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.30 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
June 30 1:06 PM PT2:06 PM MT3:06 PM CT4:06 PM ET16:06 ET20:06 GMT4:06 1:06 PM MST3:06 PM EST2:06 PM CST3:36 PM VEN0:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 8-5, allowing one run on four hits in 8.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Detroit Tigers 2-1 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 14, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Scherzer's next start is scheduled for Saturday against the Royals after he returns to the team following the birth of his child.
June 25 6:40 PM PT7:40 PM MT8:40 PM CT9:40 PM ET21:40 ET1:40 GMT9:40 6:40 PM MST8:40 PM EST7:40 PM CST9:10 PM VEN5:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 7-5, allowing one run on five hits in 8.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 6-1 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 6-5, allowing four hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-0 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.62 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
June 18 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST4:39 PM CST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Scherzer, who broke his nose during a bunting drill on Tuesday, is still scheduled to start the second game of Wednesday's doubleheader against the Phillies.
Analysis: Nats GM Mike Rizzo did say Scherzer still needs to be cleared by doctors, though as of now it looks like he'll toe the rubber in the nightcap. The three-time Cy Young Award winner has been lights-out lately, having won his last three starts and posting a 1.06 ERA over his past five.
June 14 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)9:07 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 5-5, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-3 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.81 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
June 9 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST10:54 PM CST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 4-5, allowing six hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 3-5, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 4-1 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out 15, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed one run on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 3-2 on Monday. Scherzer struck out six, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 6-1 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.41 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 17 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 2-5, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 14-6 on Friday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 12 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE11:12 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 2-4, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-2 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.64 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 6 8:18 PM PT9:18 PM MT10:18 PM CT11:18 PM ET23:18 ET3:18 GMT11:18 8:18 PM MST10:18 PM EST9:18 PM CST10:48 PM VEN7:18 UAE (+1)10:18 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs - one earned - on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Monday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.78 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 1 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)9:12 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 1-4, allowing three runs on eight hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-1 on Wednesday. Scherzer struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed two runs on four hits in 7.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the San Diego Padres 4-3 on Friday. Scherzer struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.12 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:29 PM PT7:29 PM MT8:29 PM CT9:29 PM ET21:29 ET1:29 GMT9:29 6:29 PM MST8:29 PM EST7:29 PM CST8:59 PM VEN5:29 UAE (+1)8:29 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 1-3, allowing seven runs - six earned - on 11 hits in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 9-3 on Saturday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.45 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:28 PM PT2:28 PM MT3:28 PM CT4:28 PM ET16:28 ET20:28 GMT4:28 1:28 PM MST3:28 PM EST2:28 PM CST3:58 PM VEN0:28 UAE (+1)3:28 PM CT-Max Scherzer allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 8.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 1:58 PM PT2:58 PM MT3:58 PM CT4:58 PM ET16:58 ET20:58 GMT4:58 1:58 PM MST3:58 PM EST2:58 PM CST4:28 PM VEN0:58 UAE (+1)3:58 PM CT-Max Scherzer improved to 1-2, allowing four runs on eight hits in 6.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 12-9 on Sunday. Scherzer struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 0-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-2 on Tuesday. Scherzer struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE1:54 PM CT-Max Scherzer fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits and three walks in 7.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 2-0 on Thursday. Scherzer struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 0.65 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Ari 0 4 0 - 0 16 7 0 56.0 48 24 19 5 21 1 66 1.23 3.05
2009 Ari 9 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 170.1 166 94 78 20 63 1 174 1.34 4.12
2010 Det 12 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 195.2 174 84 76 20 70 1 184 1.25 3.50
2011 Det 15 9 0 - 0 33 33 0 195.0 207 101 96 29 56 1 174 1.35 4.43
2012 Det 16 7 0 - 0 32 32 0 187.2 179 82 78 23 60 2 231 1.27 3.74
2013 Det 21 3 0 - 0 32 32 0 214.1 152 73 69 18 56 0 240 0.97 2.90
2014 Det 18 5 0 - 0 33 33 1 220.1 196 80 77 18 63 1 252 1.18 3.15
2015 Was 14 12 0 - 0 33 33 4 228.2 176 74 71 27 34 2 276 0.92 2.79
2016 Was 20 7 0 - 0 34 34 1 228.1 165 77 75 31 56 2 284 0.97 2.96
2017 Was 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 2 200.2 126 62 56 22 55 2 268 0.90 2.51
2018 Was 18 7 0 - 0 33 33 2 220.2 150 66 62 23 51 4 300 0.91 2.53
2019 Was 9 5 0 - 0 21 21 0 138.1 112 40 37 11 26 2 192 1.00 2.41
Career 168 87 0 - 0 359 350 10 2256.0 1851 857 794 247 611 19 2641 1.09 3.17

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Ari 17 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .000 .071 .000
2009 Ari 31 53 4 12 2 0 0 3 3 17 0 0 .226 .268 .264
2010 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Det 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Det 32 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2014 Det 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Was 34 69 4 15 0 0 0 0 2 23 0 0 .217 .239 .217
2016 Was 34 70 4 13 1 0 0 12 2 30 0 0 .186 .208 .200
2017 Was 31 62 4 10 0 0 1 5 4 16 0 0 .161 .212 .210
2018 Was 35 70 8 17 2 0 0 6 1 14 1 0 .243 .274 .271
2019 Was 22 45 4 8 0 0 0 2 0 21 1 0 .178 .178 .178
Career 365 395 29 76 6 0 1 29 13 127 2 0 .192 .222 .215

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Det Total 1 1 0 - 0 4 3 0 15.2 15 10 10 1 9 0 14 5.74
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 1 1 0 4 0 7 1.23
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 11 9 9 1 5 0 7 9.72
2012 Det Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 17.1 12 5 4 1 4 0 26 2.08
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 3 1 0 0 1 0 8 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 2 1 1 0 2 0 10 1.59
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 7 3 3 1 1 0 8 4.26
2013 Det Total 2 1 0 - 0 4 3 0 22.1 12 7 7 1 11 1 34 2.82
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.0 6 3 3 1 4 1 13 3.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.1 6 4 4 0 7 0 21 2.70
2014 Det Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 7 5 5 2 1 0 6 6.14
2016 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 10 5 5 3 2 0 12 3.75
2017 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 7.1 4 5 3 0 4 1 8 3.68
Career 4 5 0 - 0 16 13 0 82.0 60 37 34 8 31 2 100 3.73

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2016 Was Total 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Was Total 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 16 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1059 98 91 95 48.49
Curveball 177 82 75 78.3 8.1
Slider 464 89 83 85.6 21.25
Changeup 306 88 81 84.3 14.01
Cut Fastball 178 94 86 89.9 8.15


@STATS_Insights