MLB

#50
Charlie Morton
ERA W-L K
5.14 1-2 28
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-5 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 11/12/1983 Birthplace: Flemington, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 13 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST2:25 PM CST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on six hits in 4.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-3 on Sunday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 5:51 PM PT6:51 PM MT7:51 PM CT8:51 PM ET20:51 ET0:51 GMT8:51 5:51 PM MST7:51 PM EST6:51 PM CST8:21 PM VEN4:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Washington Nationals 6-1 on Monday. Morton struck out three, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Charlie Morton walked two and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 5-2 on Wednesday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 12:05 PM PT1:05 PM MT2:05 PM CT3:05 PM ET15:05 ET19:05 GMT3:05 12:05 PM MST2:05 PM EST1:05 PM CST2:35 PM VEN23:05 UAE2:05 PM CT-Morton (right shoulder inflammation) has been activated from the injured list to start Wednesday against the Yankees.
Analysis: It will be Morton's first start in three weeks, though he has thrown a few side sessions during his time on the IL. After allowing six runs in a loss on Opening Day, the two-time All-Star went 1-0 with a 2.84 ERA in three outings before being shelved.
Aug. 4 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 1-1, allowing one run on five hits in 5.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-1 on Tuesday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 5.52 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
July 29 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-4 on Wednesday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with an 8.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 0-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-4 on Friday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Atl 4 8 0 - 0 16 15 0 74.2 80 56 51 9 41 2 48 1.62 6.15
2009 Pit 5 9 0 - 0 18 18 1 97.0 102 49 49 7 40 0 62 1.46 4.55
2010 Pit 2 12 0 - 0 17 17 0 79.2 112 79 67 15 26 3 59 1.73 7.57
2011 Pit 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 171.2 186 82 73 6 77 5 110 1.53 3.83
2012 Pit 2 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 50.1 62 30 26 5 11 1 25 1.45 4.65
2013 Pit 7 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 116.0 113 51 42 6 36 1 85 1.28 3.26
2014 Pit 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 157.1 143 76 65 9 57 2 126 1.27 3.72
2015 Pit 9 9 0 - 0 23 23 0 129.0 137 77 69 13 41 6 96 1.38 4.81
2016 Phi 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.1 15 8 8 1 8 0 19 1.33 4.15
2017 Hou 14 7 0 - 0 25 25 0 146.2 125 65 59 14 50 1 163 1.19 3.62
2018 Hou 15 3 0 - 0 30 30 0 167.0 130 63 58 18 64 0 201 1.16 3.13
2019 TB 16 6 0 - 0 33 33 0 194.2 154 71 66 15 57 0 240 1.08 3.05
2020 TB 1 2 0 - 0 7 7 0 28.0 31 16 16 4 7 0 28 1.36 5.14
Career 92 89 0 - 0 257 256 3 1429.1 1390 723 649 122 515 21 1262 1.33 4.09

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Atl 16 17 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 1 .059 .059 .118
2009 Pit 18 31 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 15 0 0 .129 .129 .129
2010 Pit 17 26 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .038 .038 .038
2011 Pit 29 50 0 4 3 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .080 .094 .140
2012 Pit 9 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 20 36 1 5 0 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .139 .139 .139
2014 Pit 26 40 1 2 0 0 0 1 1 21 0 0 .050 .073 .050
2015 Pit 23 36 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 18 0 0 .028 .054 .028
2016 Phi 4 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Hou 25 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Hou 30 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2019 TB 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 257 266 4 20 4 0 0 6 3 139 0 1 .075 .085 .090

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.1 6 4 4 2 8 0 8 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
2017 Hou Total 4 2 0 - 0 10 8 0 46.2 40 22 22 4 12 0 50 4.24
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 2 2 1 2 0 6 4.15
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 8 7 7 1 3 0 8 7.27
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 10.1 5 2 2 0 1 0 11 1.74
2018 Hou Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 4.2 6 6 6 0 4 0 4 11.57
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 3 3 3 0 2 0 2 11.57
2019 TB Total 4 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.0 16 4 2 2 10 0 26 0.90
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 1 0 0 3 0 4 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 2 0 9 1.80
Career 4 2 0 - 0 9 8 0 41.1 34 18 17 4 17 0 44 3.70

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Hou Total 10 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 9 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 268 96 90 93 56.66
Curveball 158 81 75 78 33.4
Changeup 14 87 84 86.1 2.96
Cut Fastball 33 88 81 84.1 6.98


@STATS_Insights