MLB

#50
Charlie Morton
ERA W-L K
4.29 9-6 200
Team: AtlantaHt / Wt: 6-5 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 11/12/1983 Birthplace: Flemington, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 25 4:33 PM PT5:33 PM MT6:33 PM CT7:33 PM ET19:33 ET23:33 GMT7:33 4:33 PM MST6:33 PM EST5:33 PM CST7:03 PM VEN3:33 UAE (+1)5:33 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed six runs on six hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-7 on Sunday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 4.29 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 20 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 9-6, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Washington Nationals 3-2 on Tuesday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 14 3:37 PM PT4:37 PM MT5:37 PM CT6:37 PM ET18:37 ET22:37 GMT6:37 3:37 PM MST5:37 PM EST4:37 PM CST6:07 PM VEN2:37 UAE (+1)4:37 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 8-6, allowing four runs on four hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the San Francisco Giants 4-1 on Wednesday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE10:49 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 8-5, allowing four runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Seattle Mariners 6-4 on Friday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 7-5, allowing one run on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 8-1 on Friday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.01 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Saturday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 4.10 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)2:53 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Houston Astros 5-4 on Sunday. Morton struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 6-5, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 5-0 on Tuesday. Morton struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 6-5, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the New York Mets 5-0 on Tuesday. Morton struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed five runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Boston Red Sox 9-7 on Tuesday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 12:07 PM PT1:07 PM MT2:07 PM CT3:07 PM ET15:07 ET19:07 GMT3:07 12:07 PM MST2:07 PM EST1:07 PM CST2:37 PM VEN23:07 UAE1:07 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three hits and one walk without giving up a run in 6.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Wednesday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 27 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST1:39 PM CST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE1:39 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 5-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 7-2 on Wednesday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two hits and three walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-1 on Friday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 13 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST1:30 PM CST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE1:30 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 5-4, allowing five runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Mets 7-3 on Wednesday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 4.45 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
July 8 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 5-3, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Washington Nationals 12-2 on Friday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.21 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
July 3 1:39 PM PT2:39 PM MT3:39 PM CT4:39 PM ET16:39 ET20:39 GMT4:39 1:39 PM MST3:39 PM EST2:39 PM CST4:09 PM VEN0:39 UAE (+1)2:39 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Cincinnati Reds 4-3 on Sunday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.2 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-3 on Tuesday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 22 7:20 PM PT8:20 PM MT9:20 PM CT10:20 PM ET22:20 ET2:20 GMT10:20 7:20 PM MST9:20 PM EST8:20 PM CST9:50 PM VEN6:20 UAE (+1)8:20 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs on three hits in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the San Francisco Giants 4-3 on Wednesday. Morton struck out 11, ending the game with a 4.84 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 17 2:06 PM PT3:06 PM MT4:06 PM CT5:06 PM ET17:06 ET21:06 GMT5:06 2:06 PM MST4:06 PM EST3:06 PM CST4:36 PM VEN1:06 UAE (+1)3:06 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three hits without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Chicago Cubs 1-0 on Friday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 11 3:58 PM PT4:58 PM MT5:58 PM CT6:58 PM ET18:58 ET22:58 GMT6:58 3:58 PM MST5:58 PM EST4:58 PM CST6:28 PM VEN2:58 UAE (+1)4:58 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 10-4 on Saturday. Morton struck out 12, ending the game with a 5.67 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 5 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST4:52 PM CST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 4-3, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Colorado Rockies 8-7 on Sunday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
June 1 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE11:25 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 8-7 on Tuesday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 5.47 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 25 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four runs on nine hits and one walk in 4.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 8-4 on Wednesday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
May 20 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)8:18 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 3-3, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Miami Marlins 5-3 on Friday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 4.95 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
May 14 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Atlanta Braves defeated the San Diego Padres 6-5 on Saturday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 8 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)2:35 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 2-3, allowing two hits and three walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 9-2 on Sunday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 5.65 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
May 3 3:06 PM PT4:06 PM MT5:06 PM CT6:06 PM ET18:06 ET22:06 GMT6:06 3:06 PM MST5:06 PM EST4:06 PM CST5:36 PM VEN2:06 UAE (+1)4:06 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 1-3, allowing five runs - four earned - on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the New York Mets 5-4 on Tuesday. Morton struck out three, ending the game with a 6.85 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on four hits and four walks in 2.1 innings as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Chicago Cubs 6-3 on Wednesday. Morton struck out one, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.78 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 2:57 PM PT3:57 PM MT4:57 PM CT5:57 PM ET17:57 ET21:57 GMT5:57 2:57 PM MST4:57 PM EST3:57 PM CST5:27 PM VEN1:57 UAE (+1)3:57 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 1-2, allowing four runs on six hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Wednesday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 6.32 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:24 PM PT9:24 PM MT10:24 PM CT11:24 PM ET23:24 ET3:24 GMT11:24 8:24 PM MST10:24 PM EST9:24 PM CST10:54 PM VEN7:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 1-1, allowing five runs on nine hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Atlanta Braves lost to the San Diego Padres 12-1 on Thursday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Atlanta Braves defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Friday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 0.56 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Atl 4 8 0 - 0 16 15 0 74.2 80 56 51 9 41 2 48 1.62 6.15
2009 Pit 5 9 0 - 0 18 18 1 97.0 102 49 49 7 40 0 62 1.46 4.55
2010 Pit 2 12 0 - 0 17 17 0 79.2 112 79 67 15 26 3 59 1.73 7.57
2011 Pit 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 171.2 186 82 73 6 77 5 110 1.53 3.83
2012 Pit 2 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 50.1 62 30 26 5 11 1 25 1.45 4.65
2013 Pit 7 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 116.0 113 51 42 6 36 1 85 1.28 3.26
2014 Pit 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 157.1 143 76 65 9 57 2 126 1.27 3.72
2015 Pit 9 9 0 - 0 23 23 0 129.0 137 77 69 13 41 6 96 1.38 4.81
2016 Phi 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.1 15 8 8 1 8 0 19 1.33 4.15
2017 Hou 14 7 0 - 0 25 25 0 146.2 125 65 59 14 50 1 163 1.19 3.62
2018 Hou 15 3 0 - 0 30 30 0 167.0 130 63 58 18 64 0 201 1.16 3.13
2019 TB 16 6 0 - 0 33 33 0 194.2 154 71 66 15 57 0 240 1.08 3.05
2020 TB 2 2 0 - 0 9 9 0 38.0 43 21 20 4 10 0 42 1.39 4.74
2021 Atl 14 6 0 - 0 33 33 0 185.2 136 77 69 16 58 1 216 1.04 3.34
2022 Atl 9 6 0 - 0 30 30 0 167.2 140 82 80 26 62 0 200 1.20 4.29
Career 116 101 0 - 0 322 321 3 1792.2 1678 887 802 164 638 22 1692 1.29 4.03

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Atl 16 17 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 1 .059 .059 .118
2009 Pit 18 31 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 15 0 0 .129 .129 .129
2010 Pit 17 26 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .038 .038 .038
2011 Pit 29 50 0 4 3 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .080 .094 .140
2012 Pit 9 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 20 36 1 5 0 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .139 .139 .139
2014 Pit 26 40 1 2 0 0 0 1 1 21 0 0 .050 .073 .050
2015 Pit 23 36 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 18 0 0 .028 .054 .028
2016 Phi 4 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Hou 25 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Hou 30 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2019 TB 33 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Atl 34 55 5 7 1 0 0 1 0 31 0 0 .127 .127 .145
Career 323 321 9 27 5 0 0 7 3 170 0 1 .084 .092 .100

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
2017 Hou Total 2 1 0 - 0 5 4 0 23.1 20 11 11 2 6 0 25 4.24
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 2 2 1 2 0 6 4.15
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 8 7 7 1 3 0 8 7.27
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 10.1 5 2 2 0 1 0 11 1.74
2018 Hou Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 3 3 3 0 2 0 2 11.57
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 3 3 3 0 2 0 2 11.57
2019 TB Total 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.0 8 2 1 1 5 0 13 0.90
    WC 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 1 0 0 3 0 4 0.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 1 1 1 2 0 9 1.80
2020 TB Total 3 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.0 18 7 6 1 5 0 23 2.70
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 4 2 1 0 2 0 6 1.80
    LCS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.2 7 0 0 0 2 0 11 0.00
    WS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 5 5 1 1 0 6 10.38
2021 Atl Total 0 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 16.2 11 6 6 2 10 0 22 3.24
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.1 7 4 4 1 2 0 14 3.86
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 3 2 2 1 6 0 5 3.60
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 1 0 0 0 2 0 3 0.00
Career 7 4 0 - 0 17 16 0 78.0 63 31 29 7 32 0 89 3.35

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Hou Total 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Atl Total 4 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 17 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1246 98 92 94.9 44.12
Curveball 1063 84 78 81.3 37.64
Changeup 244 90 84 87.2 8.64
Cut Fastball 271 94 85 88.4 9.6


@STATS_Insights