MLB

#29
Jeff Samardzija
ERA W-L K
4.01 6-7 80
Team: San FranciscoHt / Wt: 6-4 / 242
Position: SPBorn: 1/23/1985 Birthplace: Merrillville, Indiana
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 5th Round by Cubs (2006)


Latest News
July 15 2:33 PM PT3:33 PM MT4:33 PM CT5:33 PM ET17:33 ET21:33 GMT5:33 2:33 PM MST4:33 PM EST3:33 PM CST5:03 PM VEN1:33 UAE (+1)4:33 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija improved to 7-7, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 19-2 on Monday. Samardzija struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
July 7 3:28 PM PT4:28 PM MT5:28 PM CT6:28 PM ET18:28 ET22:28 GMT6:28 3:28 PM MST5:28 PM EST4:28 PM CST5:58 PM VEN2:28 UAE (+1)5:28 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija improved to 6-7, allowing four hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 1-0 on Sunday. Samardzija struck out two, ending the game with a 4.01 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
July 2 10:27 PM PT11:27 PM MT12:27 AM CT1:27 AM ET1:27 ET5:27 GMT13:27 10:27 PM MST12:27 AM EST11:27 PM CST12:57 AM VEN9:27 UAE12:27 AM CT-Jeff Samardzija improved to 5-7, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 8.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the San Diego Padres 13-2 on Monday. Samardzija struck out six, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
June 26 3:42 PM PT4:42 PM MT5:42 PM CT6:42 PM ET18:42 ET22:42 GMT6:42 3:42 PM MST5:42 PM EST4:42 PM CST6:12 PM VEN2:42 UAE (+1)5:42 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija fell to 4-7, allowing five runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-3 on Wednesday. Samardzija struck out six, ending the game with a 4.52 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
June 22 9:53 PM PT10:53 PM MT11:53 PM CT12:53 AM ET0:53 ET4:53 GMT12:53 9:53 PM MST11:53 PM EST10:53 PM CST12:23 AM VEN8:53 UAE11:53 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija improved to 4-6, allowing five runs on nine hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 11-5 on Friday. Samardzija struck out five, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
June 16 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST5:26 PM CST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija fell to 3-6, allowing four runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-3 on Sunday. Samardzija struck out five, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
June 8 8:01 PM PT9:01 PM MT10:01 PM CT11:01 PM ET23:01 ET3:01 GMT11:01 8:01 PM MST10:01 PM EST9:01 PM CST10:31 PM VEN7:01 UAE (+1)10:01 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija fell to 3-5, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Saturday. Samardzija struck out five, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
June 2 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija improved to 3-4, allowing one run on three hits in 6.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-1 on Sunday. Samardzija struck out six, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija fell to 2-4, allowing five runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Miami Marlins 11-3 on Tuesday. Samardzija struck out four, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
May 23 9:37 PM PT10:37 PM MT11:37 PM CT12:37 AM ET0:37 ET4:37 GMT12:37 9:37 PM MST11:37 PM EST10:37 PM CST12:07 AM VEN8:37 UAE11:37 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija fell to 2-3, allowing six runs - zero earned - on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-2 on Wednesday. Samardzija struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
May 18 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija fell to 2-2, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-0 on Friday. Samardzija did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.69 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 12 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET0:10 ET4:10 GMT12:10 9:10 PM MST11:10 PM EST10:10 PM CST11:40 PM VEN8:10 UAE11:10 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija allowed three runs on five hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-4 on Saturday. Samardzija struck out five, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
May 5 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija allowed four runs on five hits in 5.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-5 on Sunday. Samardzija struck out four, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 10:07 PM PT11:07 PM MT12:07 AM CT1:07 AM ET1:07 ET5:07 GMT13:07 10:07 PM MST12:07 AM EST11:07 PM CST12:37 AM VEN9:07 UAE12:07 AM CT-Jeff Samardzija allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 3-2 on Monday. Samardzija struck out one, ending the game with a 2.53 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija improved to 2-1, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6 on Tuesday. Samardzija struck out four, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 7:16 PM PT8:16 PM MT9:16 PM CT10:16 PM ET22:16 ET2:16 GMT10:16 7:16 PM MST9:16 PM EST8:16 PM CST9:46 PM VEN6:16 UAE (+1)9:16 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija fell to 1-1, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the San Francisco Giants lost to the Washington Nationals 9-6 on Wednesday. Samardzija struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 9:22 PM PT10:22 PM MT11:22 PM CT12:22 AM ET0:22 ET4:22 GMT12:22 9:22 PM MST11:22 PM EST10:22 PM CST11:52 PM VEN8:22 UAE11:22 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Thursday. Samardzija struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.62 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 4:00 PM PT5:00 PM MT6:00 PM CT7:00 PM ET19:00 ET23:00 GMT7:00 4:00 PM MST6:00 PM EST5:00 PM CST6:30 PM VEN3:00 UAE (+1)6:00 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the San Francisco Giants defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Saturday. Samardzija struck out four, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 4:02 PM PT5:02 PM MT6:02 PM CT7:02 PM ET19:02 ET23:02 GMT7:02 4:02 PM MST6:02 PM EST5:02 PM CST6:32 PM VEN3:02 UAE (+1)6:02 PM CT-Jeff Samardzija allowed one run - zero earned - on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the San Francisco Giants lost to the San Diego Padres 3-1 on Sunday. Samardzija struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 ChC 1 0 1 - 4 26 0 0 27.2 24 12 7 0 15 2 25 1.41 2.28
2009 ChC 1 3 0 - 0 20 2 0 34.2 46 29 29 7 15 1 21 1.76 7.53
2010 ChC 2 2 0 - 0 7 3 0 19.1 21 22 18 4 20 1 9 2.12 8.38
2011 ChC 8 4 0 - 2 75 0 0 88.0 64 35 29 5 50 3 87 1.30 2.97
2012 ChC 9 13 0 - 0 28 28 1 174.2 157 79 74 20 56 2 180 1.22 3.81
2013 ChC 8 13 0 - 0 33 33 2 213.2 210 109 103 25 78 3 214 1.35 4.34
2014 ChC 2 7 0 - 0 17 17 0 108.0 99 44 34 7 31 3 103 1.20 2.83
2014 Oak 5 6 0 - 0 16 16 2 111.2 92 42 39 13 12 0 99 0.93 3.14
2014 Tot 7 13 0 - 0 33 33 2 219.2 191 86 73 20 43 3 202 1.07 2.99
2015 CWS 11 13 0 - 0 32 32 2 214.0 228 122 118 29 49 0 163 1.29 4.96
2016 SF 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 203.1 190 88 86 24 54 4 167 1.20 3.81
2017 SF 9 15 0 - 0 32 32 1 207.2 204 107 102 30 32 1 205 1.14 4.42
2018 SF 1 5 0 - 0 10 10 0 44.2 47 32 31 6 26 1 30 1.63 6.25
2019 SF 7 7 0 - 0 19 19 0 105.1 95 53 46 16 29 4 89 1.18 3.93
Career 76 99 1 - 6 347 224 9 1552.2 1477 774 716 186 467 25 1392 1.25 4.15

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 ChC 26 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 ChC 20 5 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .800
2010 ChC 7 4 0 1 0 0 0 1 2 2 0 0 .250 .500 .250
2011 ChC 75 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 ChC 31 50 0 5 0 0 0 3 3 16 0 0 .100 .167 .100
2013 ChC 33 62 4 7 2 0 1 2 1 31 0 0 .113 .127 .194
2014 ChC 17 34 3 6 3 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .176 .167 .265
2014 Tot 33 34 3 6 3 0 0 3 0 10 0 0 .176 .167 .265
2015 CWS 32 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2016 SF 34 64 4 10 5 0 0 9 1 28 0 0 .156 .164 .234
2017 SF 35 64 3 6 2 0 1 2 0 25 0 0 .094 .094 .172
2018 SF 10 10 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 0 .100 .100 .100
2019 SF 19 28 1 3 1 0 0 1 0 18 0 0 .107 .107 .143
Career 355 328 16 41 13 0 3 22 7 142 0 0 .125 .144 .192

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2008 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 9.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 9.00
2016 SF Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 6 4 4 0 1 0 1 18.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.0 6 4 4 0 1 0 1 18.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 1 0 3.0 8 5 5 0 1 0 1 15.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 771 95 88 91.9 43.98
Curveball 73 80 73 76.4 4.16
Slider 369 89 79 84.9 21.05
Split-Finger 174 85 78 82.3 9.93
Cut Fastball 366 92 86 89.1 20.88


@STATS_Insights