MLB

#22
Rick Porcello
ERA W-L K
4.04 15-5 150
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 205
Position: SPBorn: 12/27/1988 Birthplace: Morristown, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Tigers (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 14 6:52 PM PT7:52 PM MT8:52 PM CT9:52 PM ET21:52 ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST8:52 PM EST7:52 PM CST9:22 PM VEN5:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 15-5, allowing one run on two hits in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Tuesday. Porcello struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Rick Porcello fell to 14-5, allowing seven runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-5 on Thursday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 4.17 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 6:30 PM PT7:30 PM MT8:30 PM CT9:30 PM ET21:30 ET1:30 GMT9:30 6:30 PM MST8:30 PM EST7:30 PM CST9:00 PM VEN5:30 UAE (+1)8:30 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 14-4, allowing one run on one hit in 9.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 4-1 on Friday. Porcello struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 13-4, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-4 on Saturday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
July 23 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 12-4, allowing six hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-3 on Monday. Porcello struck out six, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Rick Porcello fell to 11-4, allowing eight runs on seven hits and four walks in 2.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 13-7 on Friday. Porcello struck out two, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
July 8 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 11-3, allowing three runs on nine hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-4 on Sunday. Porcello struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.58 ERA and 1.17 WHIP on the season.
July 2 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 10-3, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Washington Nationals 4-3 on Monday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 27 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Rick Porcello allowed four runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-6 on Wednesday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 21 1:11 PM PT2:11 PM MT3:11 PM CT4:11 PM ET16:11 ET20:11 GMT4:11 1:11 PM MST3:11 PM EST2:11 PM CST3:41 PM VEN0:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 9-3, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-2 on Thursday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST11:24 PM CST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE12:24 AM CT-Rick Porcello allowed four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Friday. Porcello struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Rick Porcello fell to 8-3, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Sunday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
June 3 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST9:07 PM CST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 8-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 9-3 on Sunday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 29 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 7-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-3 on Tuesday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 24 7:11 PM PT8:11 PM MT9:11 PM CT10:11 PM ET22:11 ET2:11 GMT10:11 7:11 PM MST9:11 PM EST8:11 PM CST9:41 PM VEN6:11 UAE (+1)9:11 PM CT-Rick Porcello fell to 6-2, allowing six runs - four earned - on eight hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-3 on Thursday. Porcello struck out two, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 6-1, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Saturday. Porcello struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
May 14 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Rick Porcello fell to 5-1, allowing five runs on nine hits in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-5 on Monday. Porcello struck out five, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
May 9 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Rick Porcello allowed five runs on eight hits and three walks in 5.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 9-6 on Wednesday. Porcello struck out three, ending the game with a 2.79 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
May 8 3:11 PM PT4:11 PM MT5:11 PM CT6:11 PM ET18:11 ET22:11 GMT6:11 3:11 PM MST5:11 PM EST4:11 PM CST5:41 PM VEN2:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Porcello was moved up a day to pitch Wednesday at Yankee Stadium, with left-hander Eduardo Rodriguez going Thursday night. Both will be on regular rest because the Red Sox were off Monday.
Analysis: Red Sox lefty David Price has been sent back to Boston for medical tests after experiencing a tingling sensation in his pitching hand again. Price was scratched from his scheduled start Wednesday night against the rival New York Yankees.
May 4 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 5-0, allowing one run on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 5-1 on Friday. Porcello struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.14 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Rick Porcello allowed three runs on seven hits in 7.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Sunday. Porcello struck out six, ending the game with a 2.23 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Rick Porcello allowed three runs on three hits and three walks in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-3 on Tuesday. Porcello struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST11:30 PM CST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 4-0, allowing six hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-0 on Wednesday. Porcello struck out six, ending the game with a 1.40 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)10:04 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 3-0, allowing two hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 6-3 on Thursday. Porcello struck out six, ending the game with a 1.83 ERA and 0.76 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 2-0, allowing three runs on six hits in 7.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 10-3 on Saturday. Porcello struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.84 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST7:34 PM CST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Rick Porcello improved to 1-0, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Saturday. Porcello struck out four, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2009 Det 14 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 170.2 176 81 75 23 52 0 89 1.34 3.96
2010 Det 10 12 0 - 0 27 27 0 162.2 188 96 89 18 38 2 84 1.39 4.92
2011 Det 14 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 182.0 210 103 96 18 46 1 104 1.41 4.75
2012 Det 10 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 176.1 226 101 90 16 44 3 107 1.53 4.59
2013 Det 13 8 0 - 0 32 29 1 177.0 185 87 85 18 42 4 142 1.28 4.32
2014 Det 15 13 0 - 0 32 31 3 204.2 211 89 78 18 41 4 129 1.23 3.43
2015 Bos 9 15 0 - 0 28 28 0 172.0 196 103 94 25 38 0 149 1.36 4.92
2016 Bos 22 4 0 - 0 33 33 3 223.0 193 85 78 23 32 0 189 1.01 3.15
2017 Bos 11 17 0 - 0 33 33 2 203.1 236 125 105 38 48 1 181 1.40 4.65
2018 Bos 15 5 0 - 0 25 25 1 151.2 138 73 68 19 36 0 150 1.15 4.04
Career 133 104 0 - 0 303 299 10 1823.1 1959 943 858 216 417 15 1324 1.30 4.24

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 Det 31 5 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 1 0 0 .400 .400 .400
2010 Det 27 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2011 Det 31 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2012 Det 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Det 32 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2014 Det 32 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Bos 28 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bos 33 5 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2017 Bos 33 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Bos 25 5 0 2 2 0 0 3 0 3 0 0 .400 .400 .800
Career 303 37 0 7 2 0 0 5 0 17 0 0 .189 .189 .243

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 Det Total 0 1 0 - 0 4 2 0 15.0 15 9 8 0 2 2 12 4.80
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 5 4 4 0 1 1 5 6.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 9.0 10 5 4 0 1 1 7 4.00
2012 Det Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
2013 Det Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 0.0 3 1 0 0 0 0 0
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 -
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.0 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 -
2016 Bos Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 5 5 3 0 0 6 10.38
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 6 5 5 3 0 0 6 10.38
2017 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 4.0 5 2 2 0 3 0 4 4.50
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 4.0 5 2 2 0 3 0 4 4.50
Career 0 3 0 - 0 11 4 0 24.2 29 17 15 3 5 2 23 5.47


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1193 94 86 90.3 49.75
Curveball 329 80 69 74.8 13.72
Slider 585 90 81 86.1 24.4
Changeup 291 84 78 81.5 12.14


@STATS_Insights