MLB

#43
Garrett Richards
ERA W-L K
4.87 7-8 115
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 210
Position: SPBorn: 5/27/1988 Birthplace: Riverside, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Angels (2009)


Latest News
Oct. 7 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Garrett Richards did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-0 on Thursday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 3 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed three runs on two hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Washington Nationals 7-5 on Sunday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Oct. 2 5:04 PM PT6:04 PM MT7:04 PM CT8:04 PM ET20:04 ET0:04 GMT8:04 5:04 PM MST7:04 PM EST6:04 PM CST7:34 PM VEN4:04 UAE (+1)6:04 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Washington Nationals 5-3 on Saturday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 30 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)7:49 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed three runs - two earned - on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 6-2 on Thursday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.75 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 7-8, allowing two runs on one hit and two walks in 1.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 6-3 on Sunday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.65 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on one hit in 1.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 6-3 on Tuesday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)2:15 PM CT-Garrett Richards recorded his third save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-6 on Sunday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.53 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)2:24 PM CT-Garrett Richards walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 9-3 on Saturday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 5:11 PM PT6:11 PM MT7:11 PM CT8:11 PM ET20:11 ET0:11 GMT8:11 5:11 PM MST7:11 PM EST6:11 PM CST7:41 PM VEN4:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 9-4 on Wednesday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed five runs - zero earned - on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago White Sox 9-8 on Saturday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)8:02 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 7-7, allowing one hit and one walk over 0.1 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Wednesday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.70 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST4:12 PM CST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)4:12 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on three hits in 2.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 11-10 on Monday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.71 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Garrett Richards recorded his second save, allowing no runs on one hit in 3.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0 on Thursday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 5:11 PM PT6:11 PM MT7:11 PM CT8:11 PM ET20:11 ET0:11 GMT8:11 5:11 PM MST7:11 PM EST6:11 PM CST7:41 PM VEN4:11 UAE (+1)6:11 PM CT-Garrett Richards did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-3 on Saturday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)8:13 PM CT-Garrett Richards did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 4-3 on Friday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 4.86 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 26 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 12-2 on Thursday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.90 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 10-1 on Saturday. Richards struck out one, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.60 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Garrett Richards walked one and didn't allow a hit in 4.0 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 5-2 on Wednesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 13 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Garrett Richards recorded his first save, allowing no runs on four hits in 3.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-1 on Friday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 5.08 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 2:15 PM PT3:15 PM MT4:15 PM CT5:15 PM ET17:15 ET21:15 GMT5:15 2:15 PM MST4:15 PM EST3:15 PM CST4:45 PM VEN1:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed four runs - three earned - on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 9-8 on Sunday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 5.22 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST8:44 PM CST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)8:44 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 6-7, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 4-2 on Tuesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 5.21 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 28 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)2:52 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 6-6, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 4-1 on Wednesday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 5.15 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
July 21 7:07 PM PT8:07 PM MT9:07 PM CT10:07 PM ET22:07 ET2:07 GMT10:07 7:07 PM MST9:07 PM EST8:07 PM CST9:37 PM VEN6:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 6-5, allowing four runs on four hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4 on Wednesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 4.99 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
July 9 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST9:06 PM CST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 5-5, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 11-5 on Friday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
July 3 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST9:45 PM CST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 7-6 on Saturday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.68 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)8:22 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed five runs on 11 hits in 5.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-5 on Monday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
June 23 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 4-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on three hits and four walks in 1.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-2 on Wednesday. Richards did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 16 8:49 PM PT9:49 PM MT10:49 PM CT11:49 PM ET23:49 ET3:49 GMT11:49 8:49 PM MST10:49 PM EST9:49 PM CST11:19 PM VEN7:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed six runs - four earned - on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Atlanta Braves 10-8 on Wednesday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
June 11 8:46 PM PT9:46 PM MT10:46 PM CT11:46 PM ET23:46 ET3:46 GMT11:46 8:46 PM MST10:46 PM EST9:46 PM CST11:16 PM VEN7:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed four runs on 11 hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Friday. Richards struck out three, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
June 6 8:04 PM PT9:04 PM MT10:04 PM CT11:04 PM ET23:04 ET3:04 GMT11:04 8:04 PM MST10:04 PM EST9:04 PM CST10:34 PM VEN7:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed three runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 6-5 on Sunday. Richards struck out six, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:37 PM PT9:37 PM MT10:37 PM CT11:37 PM ET23:37 ET3:37 GMT11:37 8:37 PM MST10:37 PM EST9:37 PM CST11:07 PM VEN7:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 4-4, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 5-1 on Tuesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
May 25 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)8:23 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 4-3, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Tuesday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 19 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)8:52 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 4-2, allowing two runs on seven hits and four walks in 6.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-3 on Wednesday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
May 13 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 3-2, allowing five hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-1 on Thursday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 3.89 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 2-2, allowing four runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 11-6 on Saturday. Richards struck out five, ending the game with a 4.54 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
May 2 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 5-3 on Sunday. Richards struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:55 PM PT7:55 PM MT8:55 PM CT9:55 PM ET21:55 ET1:55 GMT9:55 6:55 PM MST8:55 PM EST7:55 PM CST9:25 PM VEN5:55 UAE (+1)7:55 PM CT-Garrett Richards improved to 1-2, allowing one run on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 2-1 on Tuesday. Richards struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.61 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 0-2, allowing four runs on four hits and six walks in 4.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-3 on Wednesday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 6.48 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST2:47 PM CST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)2:47 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two runs - zero earned - on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Thursday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards allowed two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-4 on Saturday. Richards struck out four, ending the game with a 10.29 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)2:46 PM CT-Garrett Richards fell to 0-1, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 11-3 on Sunday. Richards struck out two, ending the game with a 27.00 ERA and 4.50 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2011 LAA 0 2 0 - 0 7 3 0 14.0 16 11 9 4 7 0 9 1.64 5.79
2012 LAA 4 3 1 - 3 30 9 0 71.0 77 46 37 7 34 1 47 1.56 4.69
2013 LAA 7 8 1 - 2 47 17 1 145.0 151 73 67 12 44 4 101 1.34 4.16
2014 LAA 13 4 0 - 0 26 26 1 168.2 124 51 49 5 51 1 164 1.04 2.61
2015 LAA 15 12 0 - 0 32 32 1 207.1 181 94 84 20 76 2 176 1.24 3.65
2016 LAA 1 3 0 - 0 6 6 0 34.2 31 16 9 2 15 1 34 1.33 2.34
2017 LAA 0 2 0 - 0 6 6 0 27.2 18 8 7 1 7 0 27 0.90 2.28
2018 LAA 5 4 0 - 0 16 16 0 76.1 64 43 31 11 34 0 87 1.28 3.66
2019 SD 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 8.2 10 8 8 2 6 0 11 1.85 8.31
2020 SD 2 2 0 - 0 14 10 0 51.1 47 23 23 7 17 0 46 1.25 4.03
2021 Bos 7 8 3 - 3 40 22 0 136.2 158 86 74 19 60 1 115 1.60 4.87
Career 54 49 5 - 8 227 150 3 941.1 877 459 398 90 351 10 817 1.30 3.81

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 LAA 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 LAA 26 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 SD 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2021 Bos 40 5 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
Career 227 20 0 1 1 0 0 1 0 8 0 0 .050 .050 .100

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 SD Total 0 1 0 - 0 4 0 0 2.2 1 2 2 0 2 0 4 6.75
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 1 2 2 0 2 0 3 13.50
2021 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 0.1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 5 0 0 3.0 1 2 2 0 2 0 4 6.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1249 98 86 94.3 53.58
Curveball 284 84 64 78.3 12.18
Slider 638 92 84 88.1 27.37
Changeup 160 93 87 90.6 6.86


@STATS_Insights