MLB

#66
Rafael Ortega
AVG HR RBI
.229 1 4
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 5-11 / 180
Position: LFBorn: 5/15/1991 Birthplace: El Tigre, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Rockies (2008)


Latest News
May 15 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST5:24 PM CST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)5:24 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2. He's now batting .229 with one home run this season.
May 14 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 0 with an RBI Saturday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2. He's now batting .224 with no home runs this season.
May 14 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE10:44 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 3 with an RBI Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3. He's now batting .224 with no home runs this season.
May 11 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST5:48 PM CST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)5:48 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 2 for 5 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the San Diego Padres 7-5. He's now batting .234 with no home runs this season.
May 11 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE10:55 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 2 for 4 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the San Diego Padres 5-4. Ortega scored once and stole a base. He's now batting .220 with no home runs this season.
May 10 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE10:49 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 2 Monday as the Chicago Cubs beat the San Diego Padres 6-0. He's now batting .200 with no home runs this season.
May 8 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 3 with a double Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-1. Ortega scored once and stole a base. He's now batting .208 with no home runs this season.
May 7 12:57 PM PT1:57 PM MT2:57 PM CT3:57 PM ET15:57 ET19:57 GMT3:57 12:57 PM MST2:57 PM EST1:57 PM CST3:27 PM VEN23:57 UAE1:57 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-0. He's now batting .200 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 30 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)8:21 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 1 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 9-1. He's now batting .204 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 29 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 2 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Milwaukee Brewers 11-1. He's now batting .208 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 28 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)8:15 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Atlanta Braves 5-1. He's now batting .217 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 27 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)9:29 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 4 with a double Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Atlanta Braves 6-3. Ortega scored once. He's now batting .209 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 24 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST4:57 PM CST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)4:57 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 2 for 5 with two doubles Sunday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3. Ortega scored once. He's now batting .205 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 23 2:11 PM PT3:11 PM MT4:11 PM CT5:11 PM ET17:11 ET21:11 GMT5:11 2:11 PM MST4:11 PM EST3:11 PM CST4:41 PM VEN1:11 UAE (+1)3:11 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 6 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 21-0. Ortega scored once. He's now batting .176 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 22 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)9:20 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 1 Friday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-2. He's now batting .179 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 21 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 4 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Pittsburgh Pirates 4-3. Ortega scored once. He's now batting .185 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 20 6:51 PM PT7:51 PM MT8:51 PM CT9:51 PM ET21:51 ET1:51 GMT9:51 6:51 PM MST8:51 PM EST7:51 PM CST9:21 PM VEN5:51 UAE (+1)7:51 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 3 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 8-2. He's now batting .174 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 19 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET23:03 ET3:03 GMT11:03 8:03 PM MST10:03 PM EST9:03 PM CST10:33 PM VEN7:03 UAE (+1)9:03 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-5. He's now batting .150 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 17 3:36 PM PT4:36 PM MT5:36 PM CT6:36 PM ET18:36 ET22:36 GMT6:36 3:36 PM MST5:36 PM EST4:36 PM CST6:06 PM VEN2:36 UAE (+1)4:36 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 1 Sunday as the Chicago Cubs beat the Colorado Rockies 6-4. He's now batting .158 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 16 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Chicago Cubs fell to the Colorado Rockies 9-6. He's now batting .111 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 16 9:12 PM PT10:12 PM MT11:12 PM CT12:12 AM ET0:12 ET4:12 GMT12:12 9:12 PM MST11:12 PM EST10:12 PM CST11:42 PM VEN8:12 UAE10:12 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 4 with an RBI Friday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Colorado Rockies 6-5. He's now batting .143 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 14 8:48 PM PT9:48 PM MT10:48 PM CT11:48 PM ET23:48 ET3:48 GMT11:48 8:48 PM MST10:48 PM EST9:48 PM CST11:18 PM VEN7:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 1 Thursday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Colorado Rockies 5-2. He's now batting .100 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 13 12:30 PM PT1:30 PM MT2:30 PM CT3:30 PM ET15:30 ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST2:30 PM EST1:30 PM CST3:00 PM VEN23:30 UAE1:30 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 2 Wednesday as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-2. He's now batting .111 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 12 4:11 PM PT5:11 PM MT6:11 PM CT7:11 PM ET19:11 ET23:11 GMT7:11 4:11 PM MST6:11 PM EST5:11 PM CST6:41 PM VEN3:11 UAE (+1)5:11 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 0 for 1 Tuesday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-1. He's now batting .143 with no home runs this season.
Apr. 9 2:54 PM PT3:54 PM MT4:54 PM CT5:54 PM ET17:54 ET21:54 GMT5:54 2:54 PM MST4:54 PM EST3:54 PM CST5:24 PM VEN1:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Rafael Ortega went 1 for 4 with a double Saturday as the Chicago Cubs topped the Milwaukee Brewers 9-0. Ortega scored twice. He's now batting .167 with no home runs this season.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Col 2 4 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 2 1 0 .500 .667 .500
2016 LAA 66 185 24 43 8 0 1 16 13 23 8 3 .232 .283 .292
2018 Mia 41 133 10 31 3 1 0 7 10 23 5 2 .233 .287 .271
2019 Atl 34 88 7 18 3 0 2 10 8 22 3 0 .205 .271 .307
2021 ChC 103 296 44 86 14 2 11 33 30 70 12 6 .291 .360 .463
2022 ChC 28 70 9 16 6 0 1 4 9 14 2 4 .229 .313 .357
Career 274 776 94 196 34 3 15 70 71 154 31 15 .253 .317 .362

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2019 Atl Total 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 4 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000



@STATS_Insights