MLB

#65
James Paxton
ERA W-L K
6.64 1-1 26
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-4 / 227
Position: SPBorn: 11/6/1988 Birthplace: Ladner, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Mariners (2010)


Latest News
Aug. 20 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST2:40 PM CST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-An MRI on Paxton's left arm revealed a flexor strain, according to MLB Network. The Yankees hurler exited Thursday's start against the Rays after five innings due to elbow and forearm discomfort.
Analysis: While it's good news that Paxton isn't dealing with any ligament damage, he's still likely looking at a multi-week absence. The left-hander has a 6.64 ERA so far this season but pitched pretty well Thursday, allowing three runs on just one hit while walking four and striking out eight.
Aug. 15 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 11-5 on Saturday. Paxton struck out two, ending the game with a 7.04 ERA and 1.63 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 1:22 PM PT2:22 PM MT3:22 PM CT4:22 PM ET16:22 ET20:22 GMT4:22 1:22 PM MST3:22 PM EST2:22 PM CST3:52 PM VEN0:22 UAE (+1)3:22 PM CT-James Paxton allowed three runs on four hits and one walk in 6.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 7.84 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
July 25 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees lost to the Washington Nationals 9-2 on Saturday. Paxton struck out one, ending the game with a 27.00 ERA and 6.00 WHIP on the season.
Feb. 5 2:03 PM PT3:03 PM MT4:03 PM CT5:03 PM ET17:03 ET22:03 GMT6:03 3:03 PM MST5:03 PM EST4:03 PM CST5:33 PM VEN2:03 UAE (+1)4:03 PM CT-Paxton (back surgery) will start the Yankees' second game of the season.
Analysis: Paxton left his final 2019 regular-season start, at Texas on Sept. 27, after one inning with what the Yankees said was a tight left glute muscle. That ended Paxton's career-best streak of victories in 10 consecutive starts. He was 1-0 with a 3.46 ERA in three postseason starts, allowing five runs in 13 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Sea 3 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 24.0 15 5 4 2 7 2 21 0.92 1.50
2014 Sea 6 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 74.0 60 29 25 3 29 2 59 1.20 3.04
2015 Sea 3 4 0 - 0 13 13 0 67.0 67 34 29 8 29 1 56 1.43 3.90
2016 Sea 6 7 0 - 0 20 20 0 121.0 134 62 51 9 24 3 117 1.31 3.79
2017 Sea 12 5 0 - 0 24 24 0 136.0 113 47 45 9 37 1 156 1.10 2.98
2018 Sea 11 6 0 - 0 28 28 2 160.1 134 67 67 23 42 0 208 1.10 3.76
2019 NYY 15 6 0 - 0 29 29 0 150.2 138 71 64 23 55 0 186 1.28 3.82
2020 NYY 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 20.1 23 17 15 4 7 0 26 1.48 6.64
Career 57 33 0 - 0 136 136 2 753.1 684 332 300 81 230 9 829 1.21 3.58

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Sea 4 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2014 Sea 13 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Sea 13 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Sea 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 3 0 0 .000 .250 .000
2019 NYY 29 5 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 136 12 1 0 0 0 0 1 2 12 0 0 .000 .143 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 NYY Total 2 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 26.0 26 10 10 4 14 0 40 3.37
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 5 3 3 2 1 0 8 5.79
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 8 2 2 0 6 0 12 2.16
Career 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 13.0 13 5 5 2 7 0 20 3.46


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 202 95 89 92.1 56.74
Curveball 56 82 76 79.8 15.73
Slider 53 88 84 85.4 14.89
Changeup 45 84 79 82.1 12.64


@STATS_Insights