MLB

#39
Lucas Sims
ERA W-L K
9.45 1-0 5
Team: CincinnatiHt / Wt: 6-2 / 225
Position: SPBorn: 5/10/1994 Birthplace: Lawrenceville, Georgia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Braves (2012)


Latest News
May 10 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)8:40 PM CT-Lucas Sims walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.2 scoreless innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Tuesday. Sims did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.45 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
May 7 12:53 PM PT1:53 PM MT2:53 PM CT3:53 PM ET15:53 ET19:53 GMT3:53 12:53 PM MST2:53 PM EST1:53 PM CST3:23 PM VEN23:53 UAE1:53 PM CT-Lucas Sims improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 9-2 on Saturday. Sims struck out three, ending the game with a 12.60 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
May 4 8:38 PM PT9:38 PM MT10:38 PM CT11:38 PM ET23:38 ET3:38 GMT11:38 8:38 PM MST10:38 PM EST9:38 PM CST11:08 PM VEN7:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Lucas Sims allowed five runs on one hit and four walks in 0.2 innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 18-4 on Wednesday. Sims struck out one, ending the game with a 15.75 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Lucas Sims did not allow a hit or walk in 1.1 scoreless innings as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Saturday. Sims did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 1:33 PM PT2:33 PM MT3:33 PM CT4:33 PM ET16:33 ET20:33 GMT4:33 1:33 PM MST3:33 PM EST2:33 PM CST4:03 PM VEN0:33 UAE (+1)2:33 PM CT-Lucas Sims recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Cincinnati Reds defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Sunday. Sims did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 4:31 PM PT5:31 PM MT6:31 PM CT7:31 PM ET19:31 ET23:31 GMT7:31 4:31 PM MST6:31 PM EST5:31 PM CST7:01 PM VEN3:31 UAE (+1)5:31 PM CT-Lucas Sims allowed two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Cincinnati Reds lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 5-0 on Saturday. Sims struck out one, ending the game with an 18.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 9:23 AM PT10:23 AM MT11:23 AM CT12:23 PM ET12:23 ET16:23 GMT0:23 9:23 AM MST11:23 AM EST10:23 AM CST11:53 AM VEN20:23 UAE10:23 AM CT-Sims (elbow) had been on a rehab assignment with Triple-A Louisville and was activated from the injured list before Friday's series opener against the Cardinals.
Analysis: Sims is Cincinnati's projected closer after posting seven saves and a 4.40 ERA in 47 appearances in 2021. He struck out 76 and walked 18 over 47 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2017 Atl 3 6 0 - 0 14 10 0 57.2 64 37 36 9 23 2 44 1.51 5.62
2018 Atl 0 0 0 - 1 6 0 0 10.1 12 9 9 2 8 1 10 1.94 7.84
2018 Cin 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 5.1 3 4 4 1 5 0 6 1.50 6.75
2018 Tot 0 0 0 - 1 9 0 0 15.2 15 13 13 3 13 1 16 1.79 7.47
2019 Cin 2 1 0 - 0 24 4 0 43.0 31 22 22 8 19 0 57 1.16 4.60
2020 Cin 3 0 0 - 2 20 0 0 25.2 13 10 7 3 11 0 34 0.94 2.45
2021 Cin 5 3 7 - 10 47 0 0 47.0 34 26 23 6 18 3 76 1.11 4.40
2022 Cin 1 0 1 - 1 6 0 0 6.2 5 7 7 0 6 0 5 1.65 9.45
Career 14 10 8 - 14 120 14 0 195.2 162 115 108 29 90 6 232 1.29 4.97

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Atl 14 15 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .067 .067 .067
2018 Atl 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Cin 3 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Tot 9 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 Cin 24 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2021 Cin 47 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 120 27 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 15 0 0 .074 .074 .074

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2020 Cin Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.2 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0.00
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.2 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.2 0 0 0 0 1 0 5 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 55 96 91 93.5 42.64
Curveball 12 80 77 78.4 9.3
Slider 62 87 80 83.4 48.06


@STATS_Insights