MLB

#32
Steven Matz
ERA W-L K
4.21 11-10 153
Team: NY MetsHt / Wt: 6-2 / 201
Position: SPBorn: 5/29/1991 Birthplace: Stony Brook, New York
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: 2nd Round by Mets (2009)


Latest News
Sep. 28 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 11-10, allowing two hits and five walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-0 on Saturday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.21 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 10-10, allowing six runs on nine hits in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Miami Marlins 8-4 on Monday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 4.37 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST9:54 PM CST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 10-9, allowing seven runs on six hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Colorado Rockies 9-4 on Monday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 4.16 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 10-8, allowing four hits and three walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-0 on Wednesday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed two runs on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Friday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 31 4:54 PM PT5:54 PM MT6:54 PM CT7:54 PM ET19:54 ET23:54 GMT7:54 4:54 PM MST6:54 PM EST5:54 PM CST7:24 PM VEN3:54 UAE (+1)6:54 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 9-8, allowing three runs - two earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-3 on Saturday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 1:01 PM PT2:01 PM MT3:01 PM CT4:01 PM ET16:01 ET20:01 GMT4:01 1:01 PM MST3:01 PM EST2:01 PM CST3:31 PM VEN0:01 UAE (+1)3:01 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 8-8, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 2-1 on Sunday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 4.06 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 8-7, allowing two runs - one earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Cleveland Indians 9-2 on Tuesday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.18 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 8:54 PM PT9:54 PM MT10:54 PM CT11:54 PM ET23:54 ET3:54 GMT11:54 8:54 PM MST10:54 PM EST9:54 PM CST11:24 PM VEN7:54 UAE (+1)10:54 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 6-4 on Wednesday. Matz struck out five, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 11:39 AM PT12:39 PM MT1:39 PM CT2:39 PM ET14:39 ET18:39 GMT2:39 11:39 AM MST1:39 PM EST12:39 PM CST2:09 PM VEN22:39 UAE1:39 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 7-7, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Miami Marlins 7-2 on Wednesday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.49 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 2 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 6-7, allowing five runs on six hits and one walk in 3.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-4 on Friday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 4.60 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
July 27 6:25 PM PT7:25 PM MT8:25 PM CT9:25 PM ET21:25 ET1:25 GMT9:25 6:25 PM MST8:25 PM EST7:25 PM CST8:55 PM VEN5:25 UAE (+1)8:25 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 6-6, allowing five hits in a complete-game shutout, as the New York Mets defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-0 on Saturday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.32 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 21 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST5:40 PM CST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-2 on Sunday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 4.75 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
July 16 8:28 PM PT9:28 PM MT10:28 PM CT11:28 PM ET23:28 ET3:28 GMT11:28 8:28 PM MST10:28 PM EST9:28 PM CST10:58 PM VEN7:28 UAE (+1)10:28 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Minnesota Twins 3-2 on Tuesday. Matz struck out two, ending the game with a 4.87 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 6 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed three hits without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 6-5 on Saturday. Matz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.89 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Steven Matz did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the New York Mets lost to the New York Yankees 5-1 on Wednesday. Matz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.93 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 29 6:28 PM PT7:28 PM MT8:28 PM CT9:28 PM ET21:28 ET1:28 GMT9:28 6:28 PM MST8:28 PM EST7:28 PM CST8:58 PM VEN5:28 UAE (+1)8:28 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed two runs on three hits in 2.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 5-4 on Saturday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 4.95 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 24 7:30 PM PT8:30 PM MT9:30 PM CT10:30 PM ET22:30 ET2:30 GMT10:30 7:30 PM MST9:30 PM EST8:30 PM CST10:00 PM VEN6:30 UAE (+1)9:30 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 5-6, allowing seven runs on 10 hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 13-7 on Monday. Matz struck out one, ending the game with a 4.85 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
June 19 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 5-5, allowing five runs on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-2 on Wednesday. Matz struck out two, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 14 7:17 PM PT8:17 PM MT9:17 PM CT10:17 PM ET22:17 ET2:17 GMT10:17 7:17 PM MST9:17 PM EST8:17 PM CST9:47 PM VEN6:17 UAE (+1)9:17 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed four runs - three earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Mets lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 9-5 on Friday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 3.93 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
June 8 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 5-4, allowing three runs - two earned - on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Colorado Rockies 5-3 on Saturday. Matz struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.88 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 2 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST4:52 PM CST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 4-4, allowing five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 7-1 on Sunday. Matz struck out five, ending the game with a 3.97 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
May 29 10:37 PM PT11:37 PM MT12:37 AM CT1:37 AM ET1:37 ET5:37 GMT13:37 10:37 PM MST12:37 AM EST11:37 PM CST1:07 AM VEN9:37 UAE12:37 AM CT-Steven Matz improved to 4-3, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-3 on Tuesday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
May 23 12:06 PM PT1:06 PM MT2:06 PM CT3:06 PM ET15:06 ET19:06 GMT3:06 12:06 PM MST2:06 PM EST1:06 PM CST2:36 PM VEN23:06 UAE2:06 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed one run on 10 hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Washington Nationals 6-4 on Thursday. Matz struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 18 3:51 PM PT4:51 PM MT5:51 PM CT6:51 PM ET18:51 ET22:51 GMT6:51 3:51 PM MST5:51 PM EST4:51 PM CST6:21 PM VEN2:51 UAE (+1)5:51 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 3-3, allowing two runs on five hits and two walks in 3.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Miami Marlins 2-0 on Saturday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 5 5:03 PM PT6:03 PM MT7:03 PM CT8:03 PM ET20:03 ET0:03 GMT8:03 5:03 PM MST7:03 PM EST6:03 PM CST7:33 PM VEN4:03 UAE (+1)7:03 PM CT-Matz (left forearm irritation) will return Saturday in Miami.
Analysis: Matz is 3-2 with a 3.86 ERA in seven starts this year.
May 3 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 3-2, allowing three runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the New York Mets lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 3-1 on Friday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 1:07 PM PT2:07 PM MT3:07 PM CT4:07 PM ET16:07 ET20:07 GMT4:07 1:07 PM MST3:07 PM EST2:07 PM CST3:37 PM VEN0:07 UAE (+1)3:07 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-2 on Sunday. Matz struck out four, ending the game with a 3.68 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 2-1, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 5-1 on Monday. Matz struck out six, ending the game with a 4.03 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Steven Matz fell to 1-1, allowing eight runs - six earned - on four hits and one walk without recording an out, as the New York Mets lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 14-3 on Tuesday. Matz did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.96 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Steven Matz improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the New York Mets defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-3 on Thursday. Matz struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.65 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 6 1:27 PM PT2:27 PM MT3:27 PM CT4:27 PM ET16:27 ET20:27 GMT4:27 1:27 PM MST3:27 PM EST2:27 PM CST3:57 PM VEN0:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed two hits and four walks without giving up a run in 5.0 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Washington Nationals 6-5 on Saturday. Matz struck out eight, ending the game with a 0.87 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Steven Matz allowed three runs - one earned - on six hits in 5.1 innings as the New York Mets defeated the Miami Marlins 7-3 on Monday. Matz struck out three, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 NYM 4 0 0 - 0 6 6 0 35.2 34 9 9 4 10 0 34 1.23 2.27
2016 NYM 9 8 0 - 0 22 22 0 132.1 129 53 50 14 31 2 129 1.21 3.40
2017 NYM 2 7 0 - 0 13 13 0 66.2 83 46 45 12 19 2 48 1.53 6.08
2018 NYM 5 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 154.0 134 77 68 25 58 2 152 1.25 3.97
2019 NYM 11 10 0 - 0 32 30 1 160.1 163 83 75 27 52 7 153 1.34 4.21
Career 31 36 0 - 0 103 101 1 549.0 543 268 247 82 170 13 516 1.30 4.05

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM 6 14 1 4 1 0 0 5 0 1 0 0 .286 .286 .357
2016 NYM 24 36 0 5 1 1 0 2 4 11 0 0 .139 .220 .222
2017 NYM 17 21 1 3 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .143 .143 .143
2018 NYM 30 46 2 5 1 0 2 4 3 13 0 0 .109 .163 .261
2019 NYM 36 57 4 13 0 0 1 1 0 17 0 0 .228 .228 .281
Career 113 174 8 30 3 1 3 13 7 49 0 0 .172 .203 .253

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2015 NYM Total 0 2 0 - 0 6 6 0 29.1 34 12 12 0 8 2 26 3.68
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 3 3 0 2 1 4 5.40
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 4 1 1 0 2 0 4 1.93
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 7 2 2 0 0 0 5 3.60
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 14.2 17 6 6 0 4 1 13 3.68

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYM Total 6 8 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1364 96 85 93.4 50.5
Curveball 402 82 73 78.6 14.88
Slider 394 93 86 89.6 14.59
Changeup 541 87 80 84.3 20.03


@STATS_Insights