MLB

#40
Luis Severino
ERA W-L K
3.45 5-3 95
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-2 / 218
Position: SPBorn: 2/20/1994 Birthplace: Sabana de la Mar, DR
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Yankees (2012)


Latest News
July 14 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST3:59 PM CST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Severino (right lat strain) will not throw for two weeks after exiting Wednesday's start against the Reds.
Analysis: The Yankees won't rush Severino back considering all the time he's missed over the previous three seasons. Domingo German is expected to take Severino's rotation spot coming out of the All-Star break.
July 13 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed four runs on four hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Cincinnati Reds 7-6 on Wednesday. Severino struck out one, ending the game with a 3.45 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 6 8:41 PM PT9:41 PM MT10:41 PM CT11:41 PM ET23:41 ET3:41 GMT11:41 8:41 PM MST10:41 PM EST9:41 PM CST11:11 PM VEN7:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 5-3, allowing four hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 16-0 on Wednesday. Severino struck out three, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 30 6:12 PM PT7:12 PM MT8:12 PM CT9:12 PM ET21:12 ET1:12 GMT9:12 6:12 PM MST8:12 PM EST7:12 PM CST8:42 PM VEN5:12 UAE (+1)7:12 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 4-3, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 2-1 on Thursday. Severino struck out four, ending the game with a 3.35 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 24 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)8:24 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 4-2, allowing three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 3-1 on Friday. Severino struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 19 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)3:27 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed five runs on three hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 10-9 on Sunday. Severino struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
June 16 12:37 PM PT1:37 PM MT2:37 PM CT3:37 PM ET15:37 ET19:37 GMT3:37 12:37 PM MST2:37 PM EST1:37 PM CST3:07 PM VEN23:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Severino has been activated from the COVID-19 injured list and will travel with the Yankees to Toronto for this weekend's series with the Blue Jays.
Analysis: Severino had to be scratched from Thursday's scheduled start against the Rays, but did not test positive for COVID-19 and was off the roster for only one day. It's uncertain whether the right-hander will take the mound in any of the three-games of this weekend's series.
June 10 8:32 PM PT9:32 PM MT10:32 PM CT11:32 PM ET23:32 ET3:32 GMT11:32 8:32 PM MST10:32 PM EST9:32 PM CST11:02 PM VEN7:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed one run on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Friday. Severino struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 4 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST1:41 PM CST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE1:41 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 4-1, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 3-0 on Saturday. Severino struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 29 1:19 PM PT2:19 PM MT3:19 PM CT4:19 PM ET16:19 ET20:19 GMT4:19 1:19 PM MST3:19 PM EST2:19 PM CST3:49 PM VEN0:19 UAE (+1)2:19 PM CT-Luis Severino fell to 3-1, allowing four runs on two hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2 on Sunday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)8:06 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed eight hits without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-0 on Sunday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 3.02 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 16 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET22:12 ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST9:12 PM EST8:12 PM CST9:42 PM VEN6:12 UAE (+1)8:12 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 3-0, allowing one run on one hit and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-2 on Monday. Severino struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
May 10 7:54 PM PT8:54 PM MT9:54 PM CT10:54 PM ET22:54 ET2:54 GMT10:54 7:54 PM MST9:54 PM EST8:54 PM CST10:24 PM VEN6:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Tuesday. Severino struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.08 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
May 1 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)3:39 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed four runs - three earned - on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-4 on Sunday. Severino struck out four, ending the game with a 3.75 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)8:46 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 2-0, allowing four runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-8 on Tuesday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)7:53 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed one run on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-3 on Wednesday. Severino struck out three, ending the game with a 2.08 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST9:51 PM CST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Luis Severino improved to 1-0, allowing two hits and two walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-0 on Thursday. Severino struck out six, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 4:10 PM PT5:10 PM MT6:10 PM CT7:10 PM ET19:10 ET23:10 GMT7:10 4:10 PM MST6:10 PM EST5:10 PM CST6:40 PM VEN3:10 UAE (+1)5:10 PM CT-Luis Severino allowed two runs on five hits in 3.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 4-2 on Saturday. Severino struck out five, ending the game with a 6.00 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 NYY 5 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 62.1 53 21 20 9 22 0 56 1.20 2.89
2016 NYY 3 8 0 - 0 22 11 0 71.0 78 48 46 11 25 1 66 1.45 5.83
2017 NYY 14 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 193.1 150 73 64 21 51 0 230 1.04 2.98
2018 NYY 19 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 191.1 173 76 72 19 46 0 220 1.14 3.39
2019 NYY 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 12.0 6 2 2 0 6 0 17 1.00 1.50
2021 NYY 1 0 0 - 0 4 0 0 6.0 2 0 0 0 1 0 8 0.50 0.00
2022 NYY 5 3 0 - 0 16 16 0 86.0 67 34 33 14 25 0 95 1.07 3.45
Career 48 29 0 - 0 119 104 1 622.0 529 254 237 74 176 1 692 1.13 3.43

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 NYY 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 NYY 31 5 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .200 .200 .200
2018 NYY 32 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 119 12 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .083 .083 .083

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 NYY Total 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 16.0 13 10 10 5 8 0 12 5.63
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 0.1 4 3 3 2 1 0 0 81.00
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 3 3 2 1 0 9 3.86
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 5 4 4 1 6 0 3 4.15
2018 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.0 9 6 6 0 6 0 9 7.71
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 2 0 0 0 4 0 7 0.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.0 7 6 6 0 2 0 2 18.00
2019 NYY Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.1 9 2 2 2 5 0 10 2.16
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 0 0 0 2 0 4 0.00
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 5 2 2 2 3 0 6 4.15
2021 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 1 1 1 0 1 0 1 6.75
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 1.1 1 1 1 0 1 0 1 6.75
Career 1 3 0 - 0 9 8 0 32.2 32 19 19 7 20 0 32 5.23


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 667 100 87 96.1 47.51
Slider 304 90 79 85.1 21.65
Changeup 323 93 84 88.9 23.01
Cut Fastball 110 95 86 90.5 7.83


@STATS_Insights