MLB

#67
Josh Smith
ERA W-L K
5.81 0-3 29
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-2 / 212
Position: SPBorn: 8/7/1987 Birthplace: Margate, Florida
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 21st Round by Reds (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 28 1:47 PM PT2:47 PM MT3:47 PM CT4:47 PM ET16:47 ET20:47 GMT4:47 1:47 PM MST3:47 PM EST2:47 PM CST4:17 PM VEN0:47 UAE (+1)3:47 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 9-4 on Saturday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 5.81 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Josh Smith fell to 0-3, allowing two runs on two hits without recording an out, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Saturday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.90 ERA and 1.45 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 10-5 on Sunday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 4:40 PM PT5:40 PM MT6:40 PM CT7:40 PM ET19:40 ET23:40 GMT7:40 4:40 PM MST6:40 PM EST5:40 PM CST7:10 PM VEN3:40 UAE (+1)6:40 PM CT-Josh Smith walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 5-1 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 5.67 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 9:51 PM PT10:51 PM MT11:51 PM CT12:51 AM ET0:51 ET4:51 GMT12:51 9:51 PM MST11:51 PM EST10:51 PM CST12:21 AM VEN8:51 UAE11:51 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one run on one hit in 0.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Los Angeles Angels 10-4 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 5.88 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 9:17 PM PT10:17 PM MT11:17 PM CT12:17 AM ET0:17 ET4:17 GMT12:17 9:17 PM MST11:17 PM EST10:17 PM CST11:47 PM VEN8:17 UAE11:17 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed four runs on four hits in 1.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Colorado Rockies 10-6 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 24 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Josh Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the San Diego Padres 11-0 on Friday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 4.44 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST1:52 PM CST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one run on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 9-2 on Saturday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 4.84 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 23 1:20 PM PT2:20 PM MT3:20 PM CT4:20 PM ET16:20 ET20:20 GMT4:20 1:20 PM MST3:20 PM EST2:20 PM CST3:50 PM VEN0:20 UAE (+1)3:20 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-1 on Sunday. Smith struck out four, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.47 WHIP on the season.
June 22 5:24 PM PT6:24 PM MT7:24 PM CT8:24 PM ET20:24 ET0:24 GMT8:24 5:24 PM MST7:24 PM EST6:24 PM CST7:54 PM VEN4:24 UAE (+1)7:24 PM CT-Josh Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7 on Saturday. Smith struck out three, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
June 16 2:59 PM PT3:59 PM MT4:59 PM CT5:59 PM ET17:59 ET21:59 GMT5:59 2:59 PM MST4:59 PM EST3:59 PM CST5:29 PM VEN1:59 UAE (+1)4:59 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed three runs - one earned - on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-6 on Sunday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 6.28 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 14 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST8:37 PM CST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one run on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 13-2 on Friday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 6.08 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
June 13 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Josh Smith recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits and one walk in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 7-6 on Thursday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 5.84 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 8 1:44 PM PT2:44 PM MT3:44 PM CT4:44 PM ET16:44 ET20:44 GMT4:44 1:44 PM MST3:44 PM EST2:44 PM CST4:14 PM VEN0:44 UAE (+1)3:44 PM CT-Josh Smith fell to 0-2, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 9-2 on Saturday. Smith struck out three, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
May 18 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST8:51 PM CST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 7-3 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 4.91 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
May 12 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 11-2 on Sunday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 5.68 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
May 6 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Josh Smith fell to 0-1, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 3.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 4-1 on Monday. Smith struck out three, ending the game with an 8.31 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Josh Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-1 on Friday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Cin 0 4 0 - 0 9 7 0 32.2 42 27 25 5 21 3 30 1.93 6.89
2016 Cin 3 3 0 - 0 32 2 0 59.2 57 32 31 11 26 1 48 1.39 4.68
2017 Oak 2 1 0 - 0 26 0 0 35.0 35 20 19 3 15 1 25 1.43 4.89
2019 Bos 0 3 1 - 2 18 2 0 31.0 36 22 20 10 8 1 29 1.42 5.81
Career 5 11 1 - 2 85 11 0 158.1 170 101 95 29 70 6 132 1.52 5.40

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Cin 10 9 1 2 0 1 0 0 0 4 0 0 .222 .222 .444
2016 Cin 33 11 0 2 1 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .182 .182 .273
Career 87 20 1 4 1 1 0 0 0 8 0 0 .200 .200 .350


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 230 94 89 91.4 38.79
Curveball 137 81 74 78.1 23.1
Slider 28 87 81 84.4 4.72
Changeup 47 85 78 81.8 7.93
Cut Fastball 151 90 84 87.6 25.46


@STATS_Insights